We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Piano Bar & Lounge

Carousel Piano Bar & Lounge
214 Rue Royale, Hotel Monteleone, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
504 523 3341
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 198 nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Piano Bar
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This famous bar revolves around the room.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went with a group of friends tonight, and had a great time. There was a crowd, but we luckily were able to get seats for five at the carousel portion. They have a great drink menu, and the ambiance is one of kind. Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“If anything- visit for the novelty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

While I have yet to ask for anything overly spectacular at the Carousel- I've had some decent more basic drinks from them...i.e. a nice martini. The bartenders are also usually pretty nice and attentive. The real star is the bar itself...if anything, just pop in to check it out and grab a beer so you can say you've taken a spin.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Obligatory check the box stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cute bar, great A/C, stop in, have a $12 cocktail, have a spin around the carousel and check the box. We were there around 1pm and thus no entertainment. I am sure it's more fun at night with entertainment. Cool pictures on the walls!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if only to ride around the bar and enjoy the rich history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Bartender makes a great Old Fashioned and the literary history of the place can not be matched. A wonderful place to relax and beat the heat.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique hotel bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Definitely the most unique hotel lobby bar I've ever seen. There are 2 bars inside, 1 normal horse shoe shaped bar and 1 that is an actual carousel that slowly rotates. We went on a Saturday night and there must have been 2 wedding parties there on top of a busy Saturday crowd so no seats at the carousel or near the band. Once we got our drinks and saw all of the bar we retreated to a couple of couches in the lobby. It was quieter, not as crowded, and great location for people watching. Bartenders were not to friendly and drinks were expensive. But for as popular as the place is that was expected.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel Piano Bar & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Carousel Piano Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Piano Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carousel Piano Bar & Lounge to your Saves list