We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy we stumbled upon this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of District Donuts.Sliders.Brew

District Donuts.Sliders.Brew
2209 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 570-6945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Bakeries in New Orleans
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Donuts
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So happy we stumbled upon this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We walked by this place while were out taking a stroll on Magazine Street on a Sunday morning during our visit to New Orleans and couldn't help notice the line inside. We had just finished breakfast but the mention of "maple bacon donut" on the window menu stuck with us throughout our walk, so we stopped in on our way back. The selection of treats is so creative, it was hard to make a decision! My husband got the pork belly sliders with a maple bacon donut, and I went for the Monte Cristo Croquenut (ham and melted cheese in a grilled donut, topped with powdered sugar and preserves- not to be confused with a cronut). While I would usually feel too guilty to be able to enjoy a donut as bread, I made an exception and it was honestly incredible! Not too sweet or rich, just delicious. This place is definitely more of a dietary splurge, but well worth it for a rare treat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Liked it so much despite myself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I did not want to like this place. Sliders and doughnuts and beer and sliders made of doughnuts seems like the hipster food nonsense people my age would come up with and not know what they were doing. I usually like cleaner, less junky food, so I was really suspicious of this place at first. I was so wrong. The doughnuts are so, so good. We went back here 3 times during our short trip. I worried I would have a heart attack here and die. I might not have minded. Usually sliders are horrible and dry, these were so juicy that WARNING be wary of your clothes and use many paper napkins. There's not table service but these people are awesome and accommodating. I saw one ditzy woman ask the chef/expediter for a straw when he was going out of his mind with orders flooding in - he handled it so gracefully I was amazed. Not every slider or doughnut is going to be the best but that's more about personal preference, e.g. I loved the fried oyster slider and didn't like the pork so much, and I loved the Vietnamese iced coffee doughnut but didn't love the maple bacon so much. There is a lot to try though. Be prepared for queues.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I only had the donuts (not the sliders) but enjoyed them enough to go back another time and try additional varieties!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Donuts for the non-donut fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I don't even like most donuts, but I loved these. The sliders were awesome and big - I could only eat two. Specials today included 5 spice duck, filet and BLT. All done perfectly. Glad I had a little room for donuts. Had the black and gold, Vietnamese coffee and salted caramel. Loved the texture of the donuts; like nothing else I've had. Can't wait to go back and try the pork belly sliders I've heard so much about.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Hip, yummy, reasonable new place in lower garden district. Cool atmosphere for all ages. Loved both the 5 spice duck and pork belly sliders. If the banana pudding donuts are available, GET THEM. Less crowded at night. Buy beer at deli next door and drop in the DDSB super cooler.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Donuts.Sliders.Brew also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to District Donuts.Sliders.Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Donuts.Sliders.Brew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.