We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dancing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulate's Cajun Restaurant - CLOSED

Mulate's Cajun Restaurant
325 Mills Ave, New Orleans, LA 70517-4805
800-422-2586, 337-332-4648
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Family dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Looks like a large lunch place. Good menu with lots of seafood specials as you would expect in this town. Rapid service, sharp wait staff. What I didn't realize is that after 6 this place turns into a cajun dance hall. What a hoot ! So lovely to see a whole cross section young and old, dressed to the nines and in jeans straight from work, all having fun on the dance floor. Decent band. Obviously many people just came for the dancing and music, some to watch but lots to join in.

This isnt a place to get drunk be be stupid on the dance floor. This is a respectable family place to enjoy conversation, listen to the band and get up and honor the old time dances that are still the best fun to do. The only thing they were missing was a caller - I would have joined in more but I dont know much cajun dancing.

While the rest of New Orleans night life isnt as family friendly, this is something I would bring my kids to for dinner and a couple of hours of fun..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    108
    48
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Best baby back ribs EVER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Charming restaurant. While it was very loud with the loud band, we enjoyed watching the dancing while we feasted on some amazing food. Service was very good and friendly. The ribs I had were fall-off-the-bone and had more meat on them than i've ever had. The sauce....delicious. Location is very close to the convention center and walking distance to/from French Quarter.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would give this place a 5-star rating, plus a bonus star for extra! ALthough busy and a bit of a wait to get in, it was well worth it! The food was wonderful, absolutely wonderful! The alligator was the best we had in all of new orleans! The drinks were generous, no skimping on the alcohol here! The music and dancing was a fabulous time. A family friendly atmosphere! Bring the kids and have a dance together! Noise level high, but reminded me of Family Supper. Made all of our hearts happy, and our soul was satisfied.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the dancing and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

7 PM the cajun music starts and so does the dancing. Lots of fun. The food is fun too. Large servings and good drinks. It is short ride on the Street car from the French Quarter.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun time, good music, great cajun food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a long day of sightseeing we asked the hotel for a good, local place to eat. They sent us here. The food was good, music was fun, and drinks were fine. Good for families, since place was loud. We were able to walk in without reservations on a Friday night. Food was good, had crab cakes and hubby had catfish. Service was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulate's Cajun Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulate's Cajun Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.