We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful mini vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7049 Bullard Ave, New Orleans, LA 70128   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #101 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful mini vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to send a special thank you for the wonderful customer service reps especially Preselyn ... She was awesome. She went out her way to make sure everything was great each day. She always had a friendly conversation and greeted us by name... That's a big plus!!! We stayed in the double suite and was very spacious for the four of us.
Thanks for making us feel at home.. We wil most definitely be back. Ms.K.Garner

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Pros: Free parking, not too far a drive from most of the city's highlights and features, very spacious room (included a separate living room with coffee table and pull-out couch), very quiet (even though, as many reviewers mentioned, the hotel faces both an abandoned hotel and the highway, it was still very quiet), toiletries provided (mouthwash, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, emery boards, cotton balls, and cotton swabs, shower cap), two flat-screen TVs, lots of lighting, nice gym, actually had a exhaust fan in the bathroom (a lot of places don't), lots of storage place (shelving, several hangers, large closet with plenty of room for suitcases), included additional sheets and blankets in the closet, free wireless, express check-out service, cookies at the front desk all the time, free breakfast

Cons: inconsistent housekeeping, tiny pool, small pillows, not much to do, see, or eat in the immediate vicinity, gym only has one elliptical, one treadmill, and no free weights

Overall, I was pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here the night of Thanksgiving. Clean lobby, friendly staff, good price with free parking, as compared with pricier downtown hotels that charge $25 and up for each night of overnight parking. Stayed in an executive room, which is a fancy word for a small room. In Holiday Inn Express terms, I think "leisure" rooms are more roomy. Good free breakfast. Easy on/off to highway. About a 10ish minute drive from hotel to downtown New Orleans. Immediate neighborhood around hotel looked a little sketchy, wouldn't recommend it for taking a stroll. TV channels were hard to find, no menu or guide available printed out or on screen. Room was clean, but appeared to have been smoked in at some point, even though it was supposed to be nonsmoking. Overall, no major issues. Good for an overnight stay. Recommend Gray Line bus tour of the city once you get there!

Room Tip: Executive style rooms are a bit small, if they offer leisure style, those may be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

No problems here. Property is clean and has been updated. The lobby and breakfast area is clean. Breakfast was great and well stocked. Breakfast host was friendly.

The room was very clean. The water pressure in the bathroom was a bit lacking. Otherwise no problems.

The area is fine, the hotel property is very very well lit and fenced off. It adjoins with the comfort suites hotel. Lots of parking available. There is an abandoned motel across the street that is being torn down and a closed down restaurant near the street. There are two gas stations nearby and the shell station has a great little connivence store. Across the interstate they have an Ihop and mcdonalds.

There is also a NORTA bus that will take you downtown for $1.25, and its a $30 cab ride back from the french quarter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was in town for business and stay here for 14 days. During my stay I was treated like family. My room was clean each day of the week. My wake up call was set ontime each day. The staff spoke to me when I when to work each day and when I came back each day. The Hotel is a very quiet and my sleep was great each night. The Hotel is putting in new carpet threw out the hotel. I will be back. If your in the area, this is the Hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

When we walked in the staff was absolutely awesome the lobby area was clean, bright and cheery. We went to our room to find a room We did not expect from the chain: Holiday Inn. The bathroom toilet had a leak, the carpet was dirty,the curtains had holes in them, the bed was uncomfortable and the walls were paper thin. Staff could not do anything about the physical appearance but they did mop the floor. Smoking is allowed in this hotel so the fumes lingered in our non-smoking room. In the morning they did have a "breakfast " but the sitting was limited and we had to grab something and go. the location is great to see the city if you are ok with taking your car. Be careful parking is limited and if you come back to late to head to an "overflow" area that my wife did not feel safe in for the car or herself. Free internet was available but we did not use it. It was also nice to have free parking. Next time we go to New Orleans we will go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Based on a few very negative reviews, I was a little skeptical about staying here. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised! It was a good choice for me, as I wanted a hotel right off I-10, which it is, and not downtown where parking would be an issue (this hotel has plenty of free parking).

The front desk staff was very nice, even though they were busy. The room was very clean, comfy bed, nice big bathroom with huge fluffy towels, and had a frig and microwave. I couldn't ask for more.

I found the hotel to be a little on the pricey side; but, not as bad as downtown or the French Quarter. It was convenient to downtown New Orleans - just a few miles away.

The breakfast is typical Holiday Inn. Good and plenty of food. There are also PLENTY of fast food joints within 5 minutes of this hotel.

I would recommend this HI, and I would stay here again, even though I am usually a Marriott girl! It was a great stay!

Oh, and I would like to add one thing - just a notation. This is an area that was hit by Hurricane Katrina. Behind this hotel is an abandoned building (looks like it was a hotel too). It has been that way for years and is kind of an eyesore. I didn't care, but to some people who want a better view, this is what you might get from your window.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East

Address: 7049 Bullard Ave, New Orleans, LA 70128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel located minutes from downtown New Orleans. This New Orleans hotel offer features and comfort of home while away on business or for pleasure. We can host your small corporate meeting in our meeting facility while offering a business center with free high speed Internet access. After enjoying beignets at Cafe Du Monde in the French Quarter work off some calories in our fitness center. Relax and unwind at our outdoor swimming pool. Come visit our hotel for one of the many events held in this wonderful city such as Jazz Festival, Mardi Gras, Essence Festival, Sugar Bowl or Bayou Classic. Our business travelers love the complimentary deluxe continental breakfast before heading to one of the local companies such as Delgado Fire School or NASA Michoud to name a couple. Our leisure travelers enjoy the short distance to Bourbon Street, Aquarium of the Americas or Six Flags theme park.Each guestroom and suite offer free local telephone calls, free wired high-speed Internet access and micro-fridge. Our hotel lobby has free wireless Internet access for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East Hotel New Orleans
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New Orleans East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.