We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
2517 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Just OK, Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

My wife, my 17 year old daughter, and myself stayed at the Lions Inn for four nights during the French Quarter Jazz Festival April 2008. Our stay at the Inn was nice, with a few positives and some negatives as well.
The Inn is located about 10 to 12 blocks from the French Quarter and it is an easy walk. The Inn itself is located in a residential area of many small quaint homes and a few shops.
The positives, Stuart, the host, but not the owner, was a delightful individual. He always kept our wine glass full during the evening wine and cheese reception and provided wonderful recommendations for meals and entertainment. The rooms, while small, were clean and comfortable. We had booked rooms B (a double) and D (a single). The rooms shared a bathroom and worked well for parents traveling with a teen. The pool and garden area was a nice quiet escape from the noise and crowds of Bourbon Street.
The negatives. The bathroom shower had a considerable build up of black mold. A good spray of Tilex would solve the problem. Although it is booked as a B&B, breakfast was not desirable. There was usually dirty dishes in the sink from the prior nights wine and cheese reception and the food, as far as I could see, consisted of some store bought pastry and cookies. While I did see regulars eating cereal, none was out or offered. My wife and I felt like we were intruding in someones home both times we tried the breakfast. Luckily there was a wonderful breakfast and lunch restaurant one half block away that had exceptional breakfasts and well brewed coffee. We noticed another guest of the B&B also eating breakfast at this restaurant so I do not think we are alone in our opinion.
If they had not billed the Inn as a B&B, but just as an Inn without breakfast, I would have given them a 4 instead of a three, even at the same rate. And yes, I would go back, but this time, I would not have the same expectations for breakfast.

  • Liked — pool and garden, clean quaint rooms, wine and cheese reception
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast was lacking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    36
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
75
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

I highly recommend the Lions Inn. Floyd and Stuart and Bubba the dog were very gracious hosts. Comfortable rooms and only a short walk to the French Quarter. I also liked the coffee shop just down the street. You cant go wrong booking here.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — no news channels on the TV
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

I stayed at the Lion's Inn B&B with my boyfriend during November. We were travelling round America for 3 months and this was definitely the best hotel we stayed in. Floyd and Stuart are excellent hosts - you really feel like you're a guest in their house. They are attentive without make you feel overcrowded.

Every evening there was cheese and wine by the pool. This was really great - a nice chance to speak to the other guests and get to meet people. I would recommend the Lion's inn to anyone going to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

We try to get to New Orleans a couple of times a year and we always stay at the Lions Inn. Stuart and Floyd are wonderful hosts and the rooms are quiet and comfortable. And the Christmas party made for a really special evening.

  • Liked — Pool, Hot Tub and Hosts
  • Disliked — That it is New Orleans and most of the time I am inAtlanta
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We just returned from a great trip to New Orleans.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Cottage for four days over Christmas. It is managed by The Lion's Inn and is located two doors up from the there at 2509 Chartres. We found this property at www.vrbo.com.

It was an awesome property with a narrow lap pool and deep hot tub in the yard, a nice kitchen and seating area with a gas fireplace, a wonderful bathroom, and a beautiful bedroom.

Free wifi access was provided which helped me do a little work and was very helpful for looking up restaurants etc.

The Marigny neighborhood is quiet, bijou, and eclectic. It always felt safe except very late at night (as in any big city) and it is a short, five-minute walk from the French Quarter.

The best part of this experience, however, was the people at Lion's Inn. We asked for a restaurant recommendation for Christmas day but were invited to eat and party at the Inn instead. We had a great time! So much better than any anonymous restaurant.

Some New Orleans recommendations from our trip: Frenchmen's Street as an alternative to the Quarter; Pat O'Brians for a Cyclone; The Belladona Day Spa for a massage, Acme Oyster House for a Po Boy, The Commander's Palace for a great meal; a taxi-tour (United, of course) of the Katrina affected areas before heading back to the airport.

Bring your open mind to New Orleans and the Lion's Inn and you won't be disappointed with the people or the accommodations.

  • Liked — The People
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

My mother, sister, brother-in-law and I had a wonderful stay at the Lion's Inn in October 2007. It's a gem of a Bed and Breakfast! Very reasonable rates, large rooms, clean beds, sparkling bathrooms, with lots of extras. And we loved the kitchen in one of the rooms -- very convenient for eating "in" one evening. Floyd and Stuart were perfect hosts. It was the best Bed and Breakfast experience we've ever had in New Orleans (and we've stayed at many). We look forward to the hospitality again! Thank you, Floyd and Stuart -- you two are GREAT!

  • Liked — Location, Price, Rooms, Ammenities
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

My son and I stayed at the Lion' s Inn for two nights a few weeks ago. The room was large and comfortable and you could not ask for better hosts. The pool and patio were a great place to escape the heat and socialize with Floyd, Stuart and other guests. Wine and cheese at 5:00 each afternoon. What a wonderful place this is! It is like staying with good friends.

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2517 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.