We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden District B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden District B&B to your Saves list
Garden District B&B
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2418 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Irish Channel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for five nights in the patio suite in April 2013. We travelled to New Orleans to attend the wedding of a friend so we chose the B&B because it is close to our friend's house. The B&B website does not do this place justice.

It is on Magazine Street in the garden district which is the best place to stay if you don't want to be right in the French Quarter all the time. It's quiet, safe(er) and is in the middle of a great restaurant and shopping district. In short, perfect location for exploring the city.

The suite had very high ceilings, huge rooms, a comfortable queen bed and a kitchenette. The patio suite opens on to the amazing back yard which is very private and a lovely place to rest between outings. The suite was very clean and well kept. There was little noise transfer from the other suites in the house which was not what we expected from such an old house. There is air conditioning/heating near the bed. The washroom was small (for tall people like us) but adequate. It is build into the under-stair area of the house so the ceiling is treacherously low on one side, especially if you have been immersing yourself in the culture of the city and return home a bit tipsy.

Breakfast was standard continental self-serve which suited us just fine. It was just perfect to get going in the morning!

The owners were very pleasant and attentive.

I would absolutely recommend this B&B. It would be especially suited for anyone who wants to experience a classier view of New Orleans than the French Quarter alone has to offer.

Room Tip: The patio suite is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corbeil, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Many thanks to Ray and Louis for their hospitality!!! Hopefully we will be returning to your wonderful establishment and beautiful city!! I would highly recommend your delightful B & B for its charm and location. Just three doors away from the bus stop! We thoroughly enjoyed our adventure to New Orleans and your home just added to our wonderful memories!!

Susan and Gerry Gauvreau
Lee and Mike Quade
Meagan, Kelcey and Lexi

Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

GF and I visited during March when the weather was comfortable enough to go walking around w/o suffering frostbite or heatstroke. This B&B was perfectly situated for all kinds of touristy stuff. First, it's on Magazine St., which is sort of "Bourbon St. Lite". It looks like a lot of other city's artsy, bar-crawl strips, but has a variety of food, beautiful garden-district architecture, and (most importantly for parents) NO cabarets / xxx joints the way bourbon street does. Our trip was pretty impromptu, and really lucked out with this place. Most places were too expensive for what they were offering, looked like grandma's house, or the owner bumbled around on the phone which put us off. We contacted GDB&B *boom* room available for the 3 nights we wanted, and for the price others were charging for 2 nights! From start to finish, we felt welcome & comfortable there. It felt like we were staying with good friends in NOLA that owned a sweet house. The place is very charming and Garden Districty w/o feeling like grandma's house. The Rose Room was large and spacious, with a private bathroom and kitchenette. The kitchenette had a door to close separating it from the bedroom, which came in handy when I used it as an office to work w/o disturbing my sleeping gf. The bed ... holy cow ... this thing was freaking amazing. Decor and such aside, folks go to places like this to sleep, so the bed had better be good. And this one did not let us down. It was soft and comfortable, putting us right to sleep after long days of walking around. However, for, uh "amorous" activities, it was a bit squeaky/shakey. We were a bit worried it would disturb others, so we tried to keep it down, but the bed was shaking like the head board wasn't bolted on well. Anyways, we show up, and they gave us a great run down of tourist info, they had a guest computer to check email, bus schedules, and print out reservation forms for attractions, secure wifi so I could do some mission-critical work on my laptop on short-notice for my job, and did a good job giving us the run-down of the local area, street cars / bus rates/routes, etc. After the intro, we were pretty much left alone the whole time. They live on-site, and provide a ph # in case you have any issues, so they're always there to help you if need be. They provide a "don't bug me" door hanger to let them know when you're in/out. They head into your room while you're away if the placard isn't there to tidy up, provide fresh towels, toiletries, etc. They provided us enough toiletries to shower (soap, shampoo, body lotion). There's a Wal-Greens within walking distance to buy anything else you might need. There's tons of places to eat along Magazine street within walking distance. Some reviewers felt the breakfast was lackluster. It was a continental-style. We didn't stay for the breakfast, we stayed for the room, b/c NOLA is known for it's food. Plus, Surrey's is within walking distance down the street for breakfast. For the price of the room, we didn't feel cheated on the breakfast. In fact, they provide you with enough food that if you really wanted to be stingy you could literally eat 3 meals for free at this place. In your room is coffee, milk, juice, cereal, yogurt. Downstairs are pastries, fixing for peanut butter & Jelly sandwiches, oatmeal / grits to make in your room, granola bars. I'm sure some college student has lived on their food alone while staying there to save a buck or two. (the pastries were really good, though. I don't know if they bake them themselves or buy them, but they were tasty.) As for touristy stuff, Magazine street has it's own bus route, and it's just a short few blocks to get over to St. Charles to hit the the street cars to the French Quarter. There's 2 "hop on hop off" double-decker tourist bus stops within walking distance. That can be a pricey alternative for getting around, but it hits all the major spots in the city, and a guide gives you a nice spoken tour on the way. This place is just perfectly located, and provided a wonderful retreat at the end of our days.

Room Tip: The Rose Room, which we stayed in, is situated towards the back of the house with a window overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time to New Orleans and with a child we wanted to stay away from the night life and hustle and bustle of the city. The location is awesome....the number 11 bus is 2 houses down and for just 3 dollars you can get a day pass. The bus drops you off on canal street and its a very easy walk to every place in the quarter including the aquarium. So back to reviewing the house...we stayed in the Porch room and it was perfect. They say its the small cute room but for us I thought it was huge with the 2 decent size rooms and 12 foot ceilings. The beds were comfortable and having your own front porch intrance to the house was awesome. The bathroom is small but it gets the job done. Parking is free on street parking and we never had a problem finding a spot. For Breakfast you have a nice choice of muffins, bagels, other pastries, fruit, oatmeal, cereal, milk, juice, and coffee. All fresh...its perfect for me because I hate having a large breakfast. I will highly recommend this place to everyone wanting a nice quiet place while still being just a short bus ride to the quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Raynell and Luis run a really nice, comfortable, quiet B&B that gets you out of the CBD if you're here for work. It's really easy to get around, as the number 11 bus stops right at their corner and goes straight to Canal, and it's a short walk to the convention center or French quarter. And it's nice walking around the garden district to look at the houses on the way home at the end of the day. I can only speak for the Martha room, but the bed was very comfortable, a rare find these days, and this room also has a balcony overlooking the street. Other people have complained about the street noise, but I didn't notice that at all. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

To be honest, this is not a review of the B&B. Although I've never stayed there, I plan to get a room the next time I visit New Orleans and will wholeheartedly recommend it to friends/family.
Based on the brief, but meaningful encounter with one of the owners, I learned all I need to know about the Garden District B&B - and the city's finest, for that matter.
I was in New Orleans for the Super Bowl with a childhood friend of mine. Epic, life-changing, 'bucket-list' kind of experience for both of us. We picked up our game tickets at a hotel down town and started walking to find a late breakfast. About a block from the hotel, some fans were tossing a football in the street and one of them sent a tight spiral in my direction. I went for the catch, but my knee buckled and I ended up in a pile of shame and embarrassment in the street. After dusting myself off and collecting the remains of my shattered ego from the asphalt, my friend and I continued on our way. A block or two later Mr. Velez pulled up next to us on his bike. He ribbed me a little about my tumble and then did the most remarkable thing: he handed me the Super Bowl ticket I'd dropped in the middle of the street.
I'd just charged a half month's mortgage to my credit card to buy that thing and Mr. Velez could easily have turned it into some quick spending money. But just smiled and handed it over - refusing to take anything - except a bear hug - in return. He said he just wanted us to remember our time in New Orleans favorably and to speak well of its locals.
We spent two nights in the Quarter, 7 hours at the Super Bowl and had an overall incredible time in New Orleans. But the story that sticks out from that trip is Mr. Velez's display of honest-to-goodness integrity and hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed here four times. Our kids go to Tulane and we like to go to the Quarter, so this is perfect. The B&B is located on the quiet end of Magazine, in an 1800s home that has been a medical office, a brothel and God knows what else. Great antiques, vaulted ceilings, pine floors and garden with song birds in back. The best thing about the place are the owners, Raynell and Lewis. They are super helpful and very nice. We were delayed in awful Mardis Gras traffic, and Lewis called every half hour to check on us and make sure we weren't lost. They will walk you through your New Orleans visit and make sure you have a good time.

Room Tip: The Patio room has a great, semi private patio and screened in sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 144 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Maison Perrier
#13 of 144 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#27 of 144 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 144 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden District B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden District B&B

Address: 2418 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Irish Channel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden District B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Orbitz so you can book your Garden District B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden District Hotel New Orleans
Garden District Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden District B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.