We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place, but hate to let the "secret" out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #15 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place, but hate to let the "secret" out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We live just a couple of hours west of New Orleans, so we go there often, but in 20 years I've never found a place I liked EVERY time we visited. The Country Inn & Suites is the exception. It's small and friendly -- from the reception desk to the housekeepers, everyone is helpful and smiling. It's in an old remodeled newspaper building and lots of the original ambiance is preserved, while the rooms themselves are clean and modern. The bartender at the tiny bar in the lobby area makes the best Cosmopolitan I've ever had and, like everyone else, is welcoming and friendly. The location can't be beat -- walking distance to the French Quarter, the Warehouse District, the river, and the Casino (if you're so inclined) -- and it's surrounded by superb restaurants within blocks on all sides. The last time we stayed (in April), we didn't like the room we got (it had no windows to the outside, just to an inside corridor with skylights). I asked if we could be moved and was immediately accommodated with a suite on the front of the building. This is my favorite place in New Orleans, but I've also stayed at other Country Inn & Suites facilities in other cities and they are all excellent so far.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    755
    140
    52
    30
See reviews for
527
881
88
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I traveled to New Orleans for a quick weekend with my sisters. We got a nice deal on the room via a third party. The lobby of the hotel is just like the photos - a soaring space reminiscent of its earlier days as an industrial space. We were given room 148 and were delighted to see that it was a suite (we had only booked a 2 queen bed room). Unfortunately, the room was located on the first floor on the street front. Every person or car that went by could be heard from the beds. Needless to say, the late revelry of people sounded like they were in our room. Then during the pre-dawn hours, delivery and garbage trucks woke us up as they moved around on Magazine street. Other than the location of the room, it was great. Comfy beds and large enough for 4 of us to move around. I would stay again except I would turn down that room # if it was offered (it was apparently the only one like it). One tip...you don't need the valet unless you need your car during your stay. I have a large SUV. The valet charge would have been nearly $36 per day to park it offsite. There is a self-park lot less than a block away. We paid only $15 per day. The walk to the French Quarter is easy. Harrah's is really close. You are also a short walk to the hip Fulton Street area and the warehouse/convention center area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

During our annual "girl trip" we needed two queen beds and the older, smaller, pricier hotels in the FQ don't offer those. This hotel had lots of character. Our room was a good size, quiet, had great internet connections, and was close to the elevator. Country Inn and Suites was so close to the FQ that we walked everywhere, We did not rent a car but took a taxi to and from the airports, rode the street cars and took a NO tour in a van. The staff was great, friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. The breakfast was so-so, (although the breakfast room attendants were very friendly and helpful), but enough to get our day started. If I ever get a chance to visit NO again, I believe I would stay here; the price was decent compared to other accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed here and had a nice time. The staff were friendly and offered everything we needed. Breakfast area is a bit crowded and the pool is very small. We were in two different rooms because we requested a move and both vents were in major need of a cleaning, but otherwise the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We booked for 2 nights but I could have stayed longer. The staff was really helpful upon check-in and even had our room ready before noon! The room was on the smallish side but extremely clean and well maintained. We took the first set of elevators to our room which was a mistake because you had to walk down then back up stairs in the hallway to get through.
The consierge pointed us to the streetcar line to the Garden District which was around the corner. After checking out the park by the Zoo, Magazine St., Lafayette Cemetary and Commander's Palace for drinks, it was back to the hotel for a break.
The pool- if you want to call it that, was refreshing for a little cool-down, but if you want to seriously swim or sun; forget that thought. The only chairs and benches were strictly for sitting.
The French Quarter was 2 or so blocks away. After dinner and navigating through huge crowds it was a pleasure walking back to the hotel where it was nice and quiet. There were just enough people around to keep you from feeling as though you're walking in an unsafe area.
The breakfast which was included was far from the typical continental. There were sausages, eggs, make your own waffles. Cookies were provided at all times.
Check out was a breeze, but - "ouch!"- the bill for parking was $51.00 for 2 days!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We Stayed At The COUNTRY INN AND SUITES For One Night On Our Way To Florida. It Was In A Great Location, A Short Walk To BOURBON ST and JACKSON SQUARE. The Staff Was Wonderful. The Bartender Was Great, Bringing Us Drinks While We Were In The Pool. It Was Quaintly Decorated, WithThat "NEW ORLEANS" Feel. The Room Was Clean And The Bed Was Comfortable. It Was A Good Deal For The Price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for a conference. While not flashy, this hotel was comfortable and a great place to stay. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. The little gift shop sold beverages and snacks at very reasonable prices. There is a free public access computer for easy internet access in the lobby. Continental breakfast was a nice perk in the morning. One morning I opted for beignets at Cafe DuMonde instead, and this was just a short walk into the French Quarter. There is a little bar in the lobby, but we did not use it. There is some variability in rooms. I was disappointed that my room did not have exposed brick or a refrigerator, but the room was still adequate and surprisingly quiet! The location is great. It is a $28 cab ride to and from the airport. It is a short walking distance to the convention center, the French Quarter, the St. Charles Ave Street Car and lots of really good restaurants. Check out the Cuban restaurant next door. It was really quiet the night that we went there, but the food (and the mojito) were really good. I also agree with the other reviewer that you should check out the New Orleans School of Cooking, which is nearby. My only issue with this hotel was some minor housekeeping issues, but I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.