We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, just off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Lake Jackson, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Great location, just off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Country Inn & Suites in early April as a weekend getaway. It's located just 2.5 blocks off Canal street, which will get you anywhere in the French Quarter you want to go. We literally handed our keys to the valet when we arrived on Friday afternoon and walked everywhere until we checked out on Sunday morning.

Check-in was easy and the lobby area is nice and bright. You pass the bar and little breakfast eating area on the way to the elevators, making it convenient. (Free breakfast in the mornings, which would be great if you were pinching pennies or with a family. We chose to eat out both mornings, so I can't speak to the quality of the food.) There's also a small courtyard just off this area with tables and chairs and a small plunge pool. From what they told us, the hotel is made up of several old warehouse buildings renovated to make one big CI&S -- which made it a tad confusing to find our room, but the cleaning lady pointed us in the right direction.

The rooms, although not overly large, were perfect for our needs (and clean!) -- just a place to leave our suitcases, shower and sleep. We were on the back side of the hotel so our room looked out over the valet lot and some apartment buildings, but when you're in the middle of the city, you can't expect much more than that. The bathroom was just fine as well.

We booked our room for $120 a night, which was a good deal for the quality of the overall hotel and the rooms, especially being so close to the Quarter. Everything in the Quarter that I saw was much more expensive. This hotel is a great choice if you're not dead-set on being in the Quarter and you need something affordable. We'd definitely stay here again on a trip back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,033
    603
    111
    42
    22
See reviews for
410
719
74
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We chose this place to stay in / near the French Quarter after reading some great reviews on it and we can't help but agree with them! We ended up staying there for less than $99 per night for 3 days before we left on a cruise. At the end of our trip, we -without a doubt- thought our 3 days in New Orleans was the best part!! This hotel is not technically in the French Quarter, but is only a block or so away. We walked EVERYWHERE, and being a self-proclaimed complainer, I'm telling you it wasn't bad at all =) Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to utilize much of the hotel's amenities, but the services we did use were great (very cleanly, complimentary breakfast was ok, front desk was very accommodating in our room requests, they serve cookies upon your check-in). Overall, this hotel is very charming and highly recommended (especially for the price!) in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It was right off the main street and still quiet enough to enjoy a good nights rest. The staff was extremely helpful with reservations for local tours. The place was clean and the breakfast was more than what was expected. Fresh and hot. I would go back again and again!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here with 2 other couples for 3 nights during first weekend of Jazzfest 2009 and we had a nice stay. This was our 2nd time staying here so we knew what to expect. Check in was easy and they honored my request for room and location in the front of the hotel. The suites here have very high ceilings with corresponding windows...nice view. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and the location on Magazine is perfect for us since it is close the FQ but far enough away to avoid the crazy crowd. The breakfast area was overwhelmed at peak times since the hotel was filled but they did their best. The only negative is that our party of six had a bad experience with John the bartender...he was very rude and sarcastic to a friend of ours....really out of place and hard to believe but I saw it myself. If it had been me, I would have made a big deal about it with management since it was so rude but my friend simply ignored it and we did not use the small hotel bar from that point forward. Overall I like this hotel and it's location and I would return again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Wife was in New Orleans last May for a conference and wanted me to go see it. Friends were going in July 2009 so we made arrangements to meet them for half of the week they were there. Booked this hotel for a good price and seemed near Bourbon Street. It was quite simply perfect for us ... a couple blocks to Canal Street and a couple more to Bourbon all in a livele and safe walking area. We also walked to the river and casion comfortably. Great breakfast bar/buffet included in the hotel price and good to soak up the prior nights alcohol. Service was wonderful and the littel hotel bar was nice. It was very relaxing to come back to after a loud night on Bourbon Street. The price for the quality can not be beat. You can pay a lot more to stay on Bourbon Street but why?

We had options of where to stay on Canal (Marriot or Sheraton) for my wife's conference in June this year and thankfully knew that this littel gem of a hotel was right around the corner from those two conference hotels .... paid a bunch less and know exactly what a great deal we will be getting.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westside
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

My friends and I were doing a "go right back" trip to NO after first visiting in 2008 and loving it. We were coming back for the food (yeah crawfish Po-Boys at Johnny's Hole in the Wall) and the music (yes, go to The Funky Pirate). Oh and we wanted to catch a bit of Jazzfest. We chose the Country Inn and Suites for convenient access to everything...walking to the French Q; Mother's right around the street; St. Charles Street Car right there...Harrah's two blocks out the door. We had a lovely week. The suite was generous and the beds were pillow-topped and comfy. We were on ground floor on Magazine Street so there was some street noise but not as much as you'd expect. The little courtyard with pool was an oasis. I enjoyed seeing the lizards darting amongst the potted palm and azalea plants. It was great to have coffee and waffles and yogurt and sweetrolls and all this stuff available early in the am that you couldn't really ingest realistically after a night on Bourbon Street. But that's the convenience part. All in all highly recommended. I look forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for 6 nights. The hotel is located within walking distance to the French Quarter, the WWII museum, and the Aquarium. When we went out at night, we never felt unsafe in the Magazine St. neighbourhood. The hotel offers a decent complimentary continental breakfast from 6 am to 9 am. It even has a small bar in the lobby which offers happy hour drinks from 5 pm to 7 pm. We were also able to utilize their small, but adequate fitness centre. As for cleanliness, no complaints whatsoever. The hotel lobby and elevators were always clean. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis. The room that we got was a standard room with a double bed and it was perfect for two people. The rooms even have cable tv! I highly recommend this hotel and when I come back to New Orleans, I will definitely be staying at the Country Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.