We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay as its always a pleasure to spend time in a lovely clean hotel that's in a great location.
Breakfast was very nice with a relaxed atmosphere.
The pool is a little small but ok for a quick dip.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for the kind words! We hope your travels bring you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    702
    126
    48
    30
See reviews for
482
826
82
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just outside the French Quarter and an easy walk to many good restaurants and attractions. The ambience is great and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The room was nice and quiet. The pool is very small but it's in a very pretty courtyard. Complimentary breakfast is typical to other places, with some hot items. Parking is expensive but also typical of other N.O. hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for sharing that you had a 5 star stay with us! We always appreciate knowing that guests are having a great time in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our first trip to New Orleans for my Husbands 50th birthday. I made reservations at another hotel for our stay but upon arrival that hotel (I'll write that review as well) was not what we expected. We walked about a block away and walked into the Country Inn and Suites to see if they possibly had any rooms available for us. That is when we met Sabrina! Oh my what a pleasant helpful funny and professional Sabrina is. She was able to get us a fantastic suite the next day for a much better rate than that "other" hotel. Our stay was so fantastic and wonderful the entire staff at Country inn and suites were superb. Hopefully you will encounter Sabrina and see what I mean by the utmost in customer service. I cannot wait to return! The hotel is easy walking distance to all the sights, sounds and fun of the French Quarter!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I will be sure to share this with the whole Front Office team. I am sure they will appreciate hearing that you had a great stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Overall the hotel was nice. Hot breakfast and fast wifi internet were included (fast enough to watch videos which many free ones you cannot). The valet service was good. Ask for a luggage cart - they have a closet outside by the valet stand. The overall ambiance was pleasant.. Walls were a little thin. You might want to ask for a room that is not in the open area by the lobby - this includes all floors. Coffee is available in the lobby 24x7. Pool is very small but pretty. No free shuttle service. Lobby is pretty with exposed beams from original warehouse. Be sure you check out on time or they will charge you $75/hour fee.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for sharing! We definitely try to make sure all the details are accounted for - and that includes a quick wi-fi connection, along with our signature cookies, read it and return library, and more. Glad to hear that you had a great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wonder lake IL.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great hotel for good price close to every attractions restaurant bar etc. Perfect location the rooms are small but anyway we spend most of the time in the city.You not have to used the car, walking distance to the riverwalk too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for the kind words - we appreciate you sharing and are glad you had a great time in New Orleans with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites Hotel in the French Quarter in late July and it was a wonderful experience. It's actually two blocks off the French Quarter across Canal Street -- which I saw as a plus because it's quieter in the evenings. It was an easy walk to everything in the French Quarter and to the World War II Museum (in the other direction), which will simply blow your mind if you go. All the staff at this hotel were very friendly and our room was kept spotlessly clean (I'm kind of picky about a clean room). We are a family of 5 and we had a king suite with a full sleeper sofa. The kids who bunked on the sleeper sofa said it was as comfy as any good bed they've slept in. It was definitely above your average sleeper sofa. They offer a very nice and complimentary full breakfast buffet in the morning -- my only caveat is that it gets crazy crowded during the last 30 or so minutes that it's open. Last thing -- I can't say enough about the great housekeeping staff. On our last day, we returned from a very full day of playing tourist. When we opened the door to our room, we saw that the fold out bed was perfectly made -- and our 11 year old twin girls' stuffed animals were lovingly tucked in with a blanket and pillow our daughters brought! I'm attaching a photo of this, because it was too cute. We would love to stay at this hotel again and hope we get the chance to do so!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
That made my morning! Thanks for sharing. I know our team really enjoys making stays special, and it looks like we were able to do that here. Whether it be little extras in service, or that we have invested in high end memory foam mattresses for our pullout beds -- we try to think of everything to make sure guests have a great time in New Orleans. Thank you again for sharing the review (and photo!). We hope you get to come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldsboro, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

First and foremost there is a hidden fee in the form of a required deposit. My party and I had reserved 2 rooms, and each of us wanted to pay for our rooms with cash and leave a credit card on file for any incidentals. An actual credit card, not a debit card. We were told that a hold would be placed on the card for $30 per day of our stay. This is odd to me. I travel often for work, and I have never had to place an actual deposit for a room. Typically, just placing the card on file is sufficient (after it's verified to be a valid card, of course). This is the only time this has occurred and I was not happy. I double checked the website after checking in and did not see anything advising of this deposit requirement. Second, the rooms are quite small and not what was represented on the website. Granted, I realize that the perspective in the online photos makes it somewhat difficult to gauge the dimensions of the room, but they appear to be taken in such a manner to be intentionally deceiving. Further, the King Guest Room pictured on the website shows a much larger room than than one we were provided. Several of the staff who appeared to be directly tasked with interfacing with guests only spoke Spanish. Normally, I wouldn't take issue with this, but someone who is standing in the breakfast room should be able to answer questions in the most language that those questions are most likely to be asked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I apologize that you were disappointed with the quality of your stay. In an effort to make sure that the policy is clear, as we are always trying to be as transparent as possible (part of why we love having so many reviews and guest photos on tripadvisor!) - we simply authorize the credit card for potential incidental charges, which is essentially how a vendor verifies that a credit card will be approved if there are any charges to the account. In this situation, we actually never possess any money or deposit, its just the credit card company assuring funds will be available if needed. If you have any further questions or concerns about the policy I would be glad to speak with you more in depth as well. We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you consider us again in the future if you return to New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Carlson, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.