We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights in early November. From the moment we pulled up to the valet in a pouring rain to our departure, we were impressed with the quality and service-oriented attitude of employees tending each step of the way.
We may have had one of the smaller King rooms but it was perfectly adequate, lacking nothing. It was clean, fresh, well tended, and wonderfully Quiet with a comfortable bed and ample pillows.

The Breakfast Room is a very busy place and, again, well tended and replenished. It's a tight squeeze in there so enjoy breakfast at all the little tables in the vaulted ceiling area adjacent. Tip: Get your coffee at the "bar" in this same area - not in the breakfast room.

Personal rant: Our only complaint was in the way s-o-m-e hotel guests [of all ages] come down to breakfast ... Come on, People! It's not your home - you're in public. Being a slob is not cute: Comb your hair and get out of your pajamas ;-)
However, I've seen this same thing in some fine hotels across America. Uhhhhh

We'd lived in NOLa before and consider this a very safe location for tourist walking in daytime and, with reasonable care you would use anywhere else, at night.

Less than 1/2 block west is the fabulous BonTon Restaurant - more frequented by local regulars than being the latest whizbang creation ... business casual and Superb food. Across the street is the Chophouse - wait til you catch the smell of the food floating across the street!
The hotel is not a far walk to other newer popular restaurants as well.

We attended a wedding at the New Orleans Board of Trade directly across the street - how can you beat this location? After standing around in 4" heels and then dancing, a nearby hotel is perrrrfect!

We were very pleased with this hotel in every way and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Glad to hear you had such a great stay! We definitely host a lot of groups with the Board of Trade right across the street and totally agree about how convenient it is for guests to be able to be so close. Thanks for taking the time to share such an extended review - we really appreciate it! Hopefully the next time you return to New Orleans you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    651
    117
    44
    23
See reviews for
449
763
78
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I will definitely stay here again! The rooms are clean and quiet with mini fridges, microwaves and coffee makers. The staff personifies southern hospitality. Breakfast is plentiful, hot and healthy. And there are always fresh cookies by the front desk.

In addition, the location can't be beat. Central to everything and away from major madness :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We definitely try to think of everything to make guest stays comfortable - even some fresh baked cookies to "come home" to at the end of the day! Thanks for taking the time to share your great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great place to stay. Brought my cousin to New Orleans from California to celebrate our birthdays and was very please from Valet all the way to the breakfast staff. Very close to everything, hotel was clean, safe and comfortable...
Valet was a little high, but because I am from here I was not surprised. Tho people from out of town may get a real shock at the $28.00 a day price.
They might want to think about during the beer and wine hour to offer your 1st drink free than do a half off offer. You are in New Orleans you know.
Breakfast was great, fresh and good selection.
Room was very comfortable and very clean....
Will for sure be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room if you want a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Glad to hear everything went great! We really think the location is the best of both worlds - you are close enough to stroll to all the attractions, but just far enough that you do not end up with brass bands and partying outside your window! Hopefully you do get to return soon! Thanks for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This has to be in my top ten of best places to stay at. It was extremely clean and the staff was ready to do anything you needed at all times. The bar is cheaper than most spots on bourbon street. The breakfast was great for continental. It is a 8 minute walk to the french quarter. It is in an area that you don't have to worry about not being safe. We will be staying here every time we come back. They really made our stay great.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We find the best solution to not wanting to leave is to start planning your next trip before you do! We definitely hope to see you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

check in was quick, which was great because we had friends waiting for us while we were checking in. room was great. staff was friendly. we will stay here again on our next trip. didn't need a car to get around. we rode the streetcars and bus( only $3 for the whole day). we even went out of the city on the bus to some local places to eat. great bar if you didn't want to go to burbon street.

Room Tip: ask for a room as far away from elevator. that's what we did. loved our room except for the pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Always great to see 5 stars across the board. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback - we really appreciate it. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel was pleasant enough. The staff were welcoming and gracious. They were all very attentive, friendly and went out of their way making sure that we had a nice stay. The breakfast was more than ample. Our room was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The patio was lovely and a nice place to relax in the evening. It's in a great location - not far from the French Quarter or the river. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. Now for my complaints - the towels were thin, thread-bare and old. The bathroom amenities were not replenished nor were the drinking glasses during our three night stay. I realize that that these are minor complaints, but, I think these small things are what you look for when thinking about the quality of service. Would I recommend this hotel or stay there again? I would have to say, "Yes". All in all, it's a pretty nice place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Glad to hear that things went pretty well on your stay. Customer service and creating great guest experiences is definitely our top priority, and I am glad that it shined through in many places and will be sure to keep an eye on some of the ones you mentioned as having room for improvement. Hopefully the next time you come to New Orleans we can give you a perfect 5 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Checked in late at 11pm, but the system crashed and room keys could not be programmed. The staff was very courteous and timely to take action and put us in a room promising to deliver the key cards asap. The room was right next to the elevator and noisy. I went back to the front desk and the receptionist immediately upgraded our room to a suite. The inconvenience was handled professionally. Unlike to the advertised quote, the breakfast was not continental but full American breakfast. The crew did a great job keeping up with the crowd and did not see anyone unhappy! The location of the hotel is very convenient, steps to French Quarter, Convention Center and/or walking distance to Superdome.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a bit noisy due to breakfast crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are sorry about the hiccup at check in, but I am glad to hear it was well handled. While all the technology definitely helps us create great experiences, every now and again it can surprise us. We appreciate your patience and understanding while we got it back up and running. Thanks for sharing your review - hopefully you can come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.