We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Came here for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised on how close it is to everything (french quarter, canal st, bourbon st) without being right in the centre, the hotel lobby was stunning - exposed beams, large comfy chairs (looked a bit like a turn of the century palour room - really lovely! Check in was fast. There was free fresh baked cookies on the desk that you just helped yourself to every time you passed!!! Fantastic idea!! Our room was cosy and beds very comfy. Slight gripe was noise travels from the lobby up (it's like a mezzanine up to the roof - very striking and beautiful but a touch annoying when people are sitting having either a late night drink or early brekky!!!)
Every single person I encountered was friendly and willing to help, the brekky staff excellent. The complimentary brekky was good - perhaps rather than a fruit salad with pretty much melon (which I personally hate) maybe some whole pieces - ie a banana or apple? I ended up buying my own banana and having with the yoghurt and granola (yummy) tea and coffee were available all day - another little perk!!
My only real annoyance was I pre booked a taxi for the airport ride with the guys out the front, it either never arrived or it was given to a family that were outside just before us, and the guy didn't have the booking sheet??!! so we had to wait for another one - which although didn't take too long was annoying and a bit stressful for me (I'm a worrier when I need to be places at a certain time) ...
Otherwise a great stay - concierge Dennis and batman John great guys!!! Will recommend this place and if ever back this way would stay again!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    701
    126
    48
    30
See reviews for
482
825
82
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Three blocks from Bourbon St two Blocks from Mothers,trams a block away? what more do you need? excellent hotel rooms clean, staff helpful and imfomative.had a great stay and wouls stay there again,loved New Orleans and the Southern Mospitality,this hotel showed all this and more

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Awesome - Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate the feedback. I see it was quite a long trip, but hopefully you get to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stay here for a weekend getaway from Baton Rouge, la the hotel was nice staff was great the only bad thing was the room smelled like smoke and a refrigerator was dirty but beside that our stay was great I would recommend Country Inn to all my friends and my family

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My family and I stay at this location when ever we are in New Orleans. It is not fancy but clean and safe. It is centrally located close to casino and all transportation as well as an easy walk to all the local attractions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved New Orleans. Thought it was an amazing city with so much to do, wonderful food and music. My room was clean and comfortable and the location excellent, just a walk to most places. However, I was very disappointed with my experience there. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready, so we were told to leave our luggage with the valet. This we did. I had purchased some lovely artwork in Memphis for my son. My friend had also purchased some. I attached the artwork, which was in a large plastic bag, to my suitcase. When we returned to collect our bags, the artwork was gone. The hotel did not take responsibility, said it was the valet. The valet did not take responsibility, said it was the sub-contractor. Nobody was at all concerned at the loss and, each day of my stay there, I questioned the people concerned and received negative responses. They could care less. We flew home to Australia minus the artwork and with no compensation and no apologies. A sad case of neglect.

Room Tip: Do not leave anything with the valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the troubles that you ran into during the stay. We are definitely concerned to hear that anything happened, and even more that it wasnt handled in a way that was satisfactory. I know that our Front Office Manager has been reaching out, trying to help sort out the issues and hopefully we can find an appropriate resolution! I am glad to hear that the city and trip otherwise went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First time in Nola and very happy to have chosen the Country Inn and Suites. Excellent location, clean rooms, but most of all the staff go out of their way to welcome and help in any way. We were greeted at check in by Sabrina who went out of her way to meet a request. We worked with Valerie and Dennis at the concierge desk and both were extremely knowledgable and gave Great recommendations. Even if you are not a history buff visit the WWII museum a short walk on Magazine St.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay! We definitely want everyone to have that special first impression when they come to New Orleans. The WWII Museum is a great recommendation - there are some fantastic museums and restaurants in that area that we cannot recommend enough and all are walking distance from the hotel.

Thanks for taking the time to share your review -- We really appreciate it! Hopefully you get to come back for another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night after fishing in Venice. We were thoroughly impressed with the decor, atmosphere, friendly staff and clean room. We were upgraded to a suite and would most definitely stay here again if we come back next year! Loved the location! As far as parking - their rates are comparable to other hotels in the area and it's just part of the expense you have to plan to pay when staying in a historical downtown hotel. I booked a combo package that discounted the valet parking - something to look into...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Great to hear you had a fantastic stay! Hopefully you do get to come back again next year! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and all those reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Carlson, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.