We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much shut eye in Nola” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Hereford, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not much shut eye in Nola”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

I booked this hotel after reading reviews here for what seemed a family orientated hotel ( ie suite accomodation). The rooms and staff:all good- in service and size but oh the NOISE - I don't know if it was just bad luck but we stayed during a period when two groups of 60-100 teenagers were there, and the noise they made at night carried right up to the rooms making sleep impossible. It wasn't entirely their fault, the design of the hotel ( with it's lobby without ceilings) while beautiful means there's no ceilings to dampen even the slightest noise. I would have though management would put families in a quieter part of the hotel- but ours wasnt the only family suffering. Bottom line... if you want to sleep before 12am, DON'T get a room that lies off the reception/lobby area.

  • Liked — location, some friendly staff
  • Disliked — noise levels,tiny, tiny pool that you had to wait to use, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    701
    126
    48
    30
See reviews for
482
823
82
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

I stayed in a third floor suite at the hotel for four nights with my wife and teenage son. The location was excellent, just two 1/2 blocks from Canal Street, and the suite unique and sufficient. The "master bedroom" had no windows, but we got used to it. The ceiling was very high and the king sized bed was comfortable. Our son slept in the other room and had a window to the inside hallway of the hotel. The only problem as far as we were concerned was the breakfast. It was included in the price, so one may be loathe to complain, but in fact the coffee, no matter which of the varieties you picked (and there were several) was below standard. That aside, we highly recommend this hotel. We are already hoping to stay there again next year because New Orleans, also, is a very special place. We liked it by far better than most of the places we have visited in the States and we have been around a lot.

  • Liked — The location, the price, and the design of the venue/
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

My boyfriend and I spent the week of July 4th at this hotel in New Orleans. When we arrived we were struck by the beauty of the hotel, especially the lobby area. It has an old world charm appeal. We checked in and even though we were very early we got a room. Unfortuantely it was on the 4th floor and the noise from the AC unit on the roof was unbearable. The front desk graciously allowed us to check out other rooms and we decided on one on the 3rd floor. Much better! The good news: the free breakfast has a good amount of options. There is a computer with high speed internet in the lobby where you can also print. On the downside, if someone is using it you'll have to wait. We found the concierge to be very helpful and informative. The room was small but comfortable. Now for the bad news and there's a lot of it: There were no sheers on the windows in the room, so either the shades had to be open or the room had to be cloaked in darkness. The TV is in an awkward position which makes it difficult to see from the bed. Our iron leaked black stuff on my boyfriends pants. We requested a new iron and it never came. We told the front desk about the stained pants and they agreed to pay for the cleaning. However, when we went to retrieve the pants they were sitting in a bag on the floor because the front desk forgot to give it to the dry cleaner. This happened the day we were leaving so the manager (thank God for Karen, probably the only professional acting person I met there) said we could mail in the cleaning receipt to get reimbursed.; The cleaning person took my personal soap from the bathroom. I don't know how you can mistake a large bar of soap for the dinky bars they give you. One day we forgot to request room service so we asked for some sheets and towels. The front desk told us they could not access the sheets but could send up towels. How can a hotel not be able to access its own sheets?! So we called back a few hours later and lo and behold they brought up sheets. On the whole I found the front desk staff to be unprofessional and downright rude at times. If we approached the desk and they were already helping someone else they would not even look at us to say, "i'll be with you shortly." In fact they avoided all eye contact and acted as though we were not there. Also, when we entered the hotel after being out all day the front desk staff would barely acknowledge us. They were too busy joking and talking with one another.
Overall, the hotel was fine since we did not spend too much time there. There is just too much to see and do in New Orleans. I loved the location of the hotel though because it's not directly in the French Quarter but it's close enough to walk there. I probably won't stay here again because I found the service lacking. If that's not important to you, it probably is a good value for the money.

  • Liked — decor and location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for about five nights in December. Travelling to New Orleans is a very affordable vacation and December is part of their off-season and the weather is still nice that time of year! We chose this hotel beacause of the tripadvisor reviews. And boy, was everyone right on! I am a little late writing this review as a result of a very poor experience that I had at a Country Inn & Suites in Wytheville, VA. So, I just wanted to give this hotel in New Orleans their well deserved praise.

This hotel is situated right on the edge of the french quarter, and close to the warehouse district. It was an ideal location, but still off the beaten path a little.

Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. We stopped at the little bar in the lobby during happy hour. That's where we met John, the bartender. He was great, just as other reviewers mentioned. He was very helpful with suggestions on places to go and the Swamp Water was yummy!

The rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable. The room was small, but the ceilings were high so it made up for the fact. The only downfall about the room was the TV- it was a tiny outdated model. Maybe they upgraded since we last visited.

The fitness room was pretty nice and the pool, although small, was very nice and private in the courtyard.

A nice touch were the fresh baked cookies they had at the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient and you could sneak in the room throughout the day for coffee.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was very afforadable, clean, a great location, and the staff was very pleasant. A+ to the Country Inn & Suites in New Orleans!

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites while in New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. The staff was great -- very responsive, agreeable, and eager to please. I loved the airiness and decor of the hotel lobby and common areas. The daily continental breakfast was adequate. My only problems with the hotel were how paper-thin the walls were: I could hear everything going on with my next door neighbors, from conversations, to using the toilet, to simply walking through the room! It was unbelievable how thin the walls must be. The bathrooms need an exhaust fan. Those are my only two complaints. Overall, we had a great experience, and I'd stay there again...armed with my earplugs.

  • Liked — The service attitude of the staff
  • Disliked — Walls were very thin!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 31st May. At first we were a little disappointed that we weren't right in the heart of the French Quarter but after our first walk through there at night we were glad we were just out of it as it is a very noisy area. It is only a couple of blocks of safe walking, even at night. The hotel itself is charming and very good value for money. Our room was huge and very comfortable. Two friends travelling with us thought they had booked a room with two beds but they were given a double bed. A request for two beds was met with no fuss. The concierge was very helpful in helping to arrange an alligator tour. The breakfast, included in the price is very good and there is a guest laundry which we found useful. There is also free internet access. In all a very nice hotel which I would have no hesitation is recommending.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We spent 2 nights in this hotel for a quick July 4th weekend get-away. It is conveniently located in walking distance to the French Quarter. This is a beautiful hotel in a converted warehouse with lots of charm. We had a suite on the front section of the hotel. It was very clean and well maintained. The hotel staff was super nice and quick to respond to any requests. Everyone was very friendly.

They offer a free breakfast and it was quite popular when went @ 9:30 am on our first morning. We opted to walk down to the Quarter for breakfast. The next morning, I went earlier ( around 7:30 am) and there were just a few people at that hour. So, I recommend you go downstairs early if you plan to eat their breakfast.

On a side note: for the ladies, leave your high heels at home and bring your walking shoes when you visit the French Quarter area. You'll enjoy it much more. The sidewalks are very rough and bumpy and it's bigger than it looks on the little map they show you.

  • Liked — Location, Value, Cleanliness, Hotel Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Carlson, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.