We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is spotless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Schenectady, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is spotless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

So glad we picked this hotel for our 20th anniversary trip and first time to New Orleans! The staff literally clean the hotel night and day. Our first day, we saw an employee under the coffee table in the lobby scrubbing the carpet! All of the staff were awesome and totally focused on being friendly and providing excellent quality of service. The concierge was very helpful and had excellent recommendations. The bed was so comfy and inviting. Our room was spotless and cleaned each day. Our hygiene supplies on the bathroom counter were even placed on towels while we were out. Country Inn did a great job of turning five warehouses into a unique hotel with really neat architectural details. Real attention to all details at this hotel!
My husband loved the breakfast buffet and the daily choices. My one concern about the hotel is their breakfast, as a Celiac sufferer, there were no options for me. Gluten is even added to the scrambled eggs! New Orleans is a very gluten free friendly city, and I was disappointed that the hotel was not accommodating to dietary concerns for medical conditions. Fortunately, I had packed my own GF breakfast bars as a safety measure. The coffee is delicious though! And, it is pretty awesome to be handed Mardi Gras beads at breakfast!

Room Tip: Fourth floor rear away from the elevator is VERY quiet and peaceful. You can't hear anything.
See more room tips
Green Features: We were provided the option of keeping our towels to use for more than one day and the option of having our bed sheets changed every three days.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Great review - we appreciate all the positive feedback, as well as the suggestion. We will definitely take this into consideration for future menu revisions. Glad to hear that you had a 5 star stay still! Hopefully you return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    701
    126
    48
    30
See reviews for
482
824
82
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Country Inn, we received the best service ever from the Bellman, from Reception, Concierge, Breakfast staff and Housekeeping! Everyone was friendly, polite and attentive. I would definitely go back and I would highly recommend others to stay for that price. The facilities were clean. We had a light that burned out during our stay, and a fridge that wasn't very cold - but when we called down to request service, a gentleman came up within 5 minutes with a brand new fridge for us, and changed our lightbulb at the same time! The reception even called up within the hour to make sure that we were taken care of. Every morning at breakfast, the breakfast staff was cheerful and polite. The gentleman and lady at the concierge was extremely helpful with helping us plan our outings, gave good directions, and gave recommendations on restaurants and Sunday brunches with a live jazz bands. We were a very short walk to the French Quarters, to the WWII Exhibition, the street cars, and to a lot of eateries. The area is quiet, so you're not awaken to a lot of party goers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share the feedback! Its always great to hear that guests are having a fantastic time on their trips. We definitely try to think of everything, so you can simply enjoy your time in New Orleans. Hopefully you get to return and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent three enjoyable nights in a very comfortable and roomy king-bed suite. Although this is a very old building (formerly a group of warehouses from the late 1800s) it has all the modern conveniences and some nice rustic touches, such as actual brick walls and original concrete columns.

In our room we found some maintenance issues which the excellent staff attended to immediately. Specifically, the morning after our check-in, the head manager, head of engineering/maintenance and the chief housekeeper all showed up at our door for an on-site and detailed inspection. We had discovered a torn sheer curtain and they had the entire floor-to-ceiling item replaced in a few hours.

I really appreciate that the staff did everything in their power to ensure a very pleasant stay, which can be an enormous challenge. Some things are beyond their immediate control, such as the age of the building. Although they (and most hotels here) need to use a remote parking facility ($28 per night), the fact that it is valet parking is really very useful in New Orleans (who wants to walk or run several blocks for the car in this humidity?).

The location here is excellent - about 1-1/2 blocks west of the French Quarter but also on the same street (Magazine) as all the big museums.

Overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: We had a room that faced away from the street towards other historical (old) buildings - no view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Glad to hear you had a fantastic stay. Though hiccups sometimes happen, its good to know that the problem was well handled and caused little trouble in an otherwise great stay! Thanks for taking the time to share the feedback and hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a great stay,everyone is always so nice. Not our first time here stayed here before and will stay again.Excellent service!Breakfast is great and the location is great ,walking distance to French Quarters,Museums, Aquarium,Casino,Burbon St and great restaurants. The entire staff, from management, desk staff, valet parking,bar and restaurant staff to housekeeping, they all go out of their way to make you stay GREAT!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share! We really appreciate you sharing that the experience not only met, but exceeded expectations. We definitely work hard to create great New Orleans experiences, and love knowing we hit the mark. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans and you can stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night as a family of four. We reserved 2 double bed suite but at check-in found out our reservation had been switched to king suite. So that left my husband out on the sleeper sofa and me and the two kids in the bed. It worked but wasn't ideal or what we had paid for. They were sold out of double suites so we were stuck. They did comp our parking and gave us two drink tickets, so we were grateful for that. The location was good, walking distance to French Quarter. My biggest complaint is that the walls are paper thin! I was awakened several times by the man next door to us. I could hear his conversation clear as day. Then at 5:00 am my daughter and I were both awakened by same man's snoring. It literally sounded like he was in our bed. Even with our sound machine on!! I know the buildings are old and the character that provides is great, but I'm fairly certain they completely forgot insulation. My husband also heard every detail of their breakfast service in the lobby since he was on sleeper sofa. All in all the stay served its purpose. But if we ever go to New Orleans again, we'll look elsewhere for our accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your trip to New Orleans, and certainly apologize about the issue with the room booked not being available. We know it is important to receive what you were expecting and hate hearing that we fell short. Hopefully on your next trip to New Orleans you can give us another shot at providing the 5 star service we are always shooting for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel very clean & charming! Great location for getting around New Orleans! Can walk to a lot of sights & attractions!
I can not say enough about "The Wonderful Staff" They are all very nice and helpful! The valet guys are really fun to talk with! The Concierge people very friendly & helpful! Bre was our go to girl at the Concierge Desk! She was so Happy & Friendly everyday! She was very helpful and knowledgeable about what to do and see in New Orleans!!! We had a great stay! A wonderful way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!!! Thank You All!!!
We will be back to visit again!!!
The only thing different I would do is: I don't think you need to spend the money renting a car and then have to pay for hotel parking everyday($28 a day plus tax) A person can walk to a lot of the sights from hotel, also use public transportation, the street cars, taxi, buses!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Country Inn and our experience was great. Initially I had a problem with the room size but quickly got over it. The rooms are small and cramped. There's no moving space especially in the King rooms. The bathroom is quite small and so is the closet space. I was disappointed at the room size of the King room. It felt and looked as my college dorm room. There was too much furniture in the room for the size; however, all the furniture was necessary. It is not your typical Country Inn. The hotel is centrally located which is a major plus. The breakfast was great and the staff were the best I've ever experienced in any of my travels locally and abroad. Many hotel chains management need to take note of how Country Inn staff treat their guests. From the moment of arrival with the valet staff, front desk staff, housekeeping, bartender, any everyone else; they were professional, courteous, helpful and genuinely concerned. I would recommend this hotel to anyone based on the treatment we received.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Carlson, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.