We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 10%
Ranked #27 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The free breakfast was an incentive to wake early, but some of the children are unruly and rude, even seeking to use tables as gym bars. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms quiet. The swimming pool looked too small for any real swim. The main advantage of the hotel is the location, 3 blocks from the beginning of the French Quarter, a few blocks from the Mississippi, and 2 blocks from a street car. The staff was helpful. This seemed to be a city version of AmericaInns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! The location really is perfect, close enough to all the attractions, but just far enough that the noise from them doesnt keep you up. We hope your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Was a great place to stay, the beds were comfy, room was nice and big and the breakfast more than did the job in the mornings. There was bacon, eggs, little sausages, bagels and breads along with waffles, cereals and fruit. The staff were more than friendly. The only downside was the Wifi connection. It didn't work in our room which was annoying, and when we did get reception in the lobby/ surrounding areas it wasn't consistent. Other than that was a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abro08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay! Thanks for sharing the feedback - we definitely keep suggestions in mind and have used them to help make sure we are offering great options at breakfast! I had not heard about any issues with wi-fi, so I will be sure to give the system a quick once over to make sure everything is in working order on our end.

Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our stay in NOLA. The location is a short walk to the french quarter however far enough away not to have the noise and hassle associated with the big crowds.
The room was clean, bed super comfy and the included buffet breakfasts, while small were tasty.
The garden district is also a good walk from the hotel so we explored that one day. (The WW2 museum is on the way so can break up the walk if needed)
If we go back to NOLA we'll book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing! Its always great to hear that such a long journey was met with such a great outcome. Hopefully your travels do bring you back soon though, we would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Budget end of the Radisson Chain – an ideally located and reasonably priced choice for a tourist visit to New Orleans, in a character conversion of 3 old properties. Service was good, from check in, concierge & maintenance who quickly & efficiently dealt with 2 small problems).

Technically in the Warehouse District, on Magazine Street – name changes to Decatur Street (French Quarter) on the other side of Canal Street, which intersects it c.100 yards away. Hence a quieter location but in easy reach of the tourist hot spot.

Tips for short tourist break:
• Free buffet breakfast provided – the usual stuff: cereals, fruit, waffles & some hot products. A good way to fill up before the start of the day.
• French Quarter by day & night is buzzing – its fair share of tackiness & excess – 3 for 1 drinks, so-called super strength cocktails (invariably not!)
• but also unique architecture (especially Royal & Chartres streets) and some good street music.
• Try the beignets & coffee at Café du Monde near Jackson Square.
• For the ‘better quality’ Jazz, the clubs over on Frenchman Street (other side of the French Quarter – short taxi ride) are said to be more the ‘real deal’.
• Steamboat Natchez (jazz cruise) – a pleasant hour or 2 on the Mississippi.
• Swamp & Plantation tours also worth including if time & budget permits to get a taste of life outside the City.

Room Tip: Room tip – away from the atrium which covers the main entrance hall and buffet eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay and got to enjoy so much of New Orleans. I am sure other guests reading appreciate your tips for exploring the city. Thanks for taking the time to share them. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon and enjoy some more of what the city has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked here for a pre-cruise stay in New Orleans for four nights in April 2012 and were very happy that we did. We took our chances with the hotel booking using Hotwire and would definitely stay here again.

Check-in went smoothly and the guest services staff were very accommodating. The hotel is situated in a quiet location and within walking distance to Canal Street & Riverwalk. It's a short taxi ride to the cruise ship area.

We enjoyed the continental breakfast that featured both hot and cold foods. Like most hotels that offer free breakfasts, it can be 'zoo-y' at times, so just prepare to be patient. A nice extra was the fresh-baked cookies at the front desk too.

We enjoyed some restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Two that we recommend are Red Gravy on Camp St and Mothers Restaurant on Poydras St.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! I am glad to hear everything went well and you enjoyed your stay with us before the cruise. New Orleans really is a great port of call to sail out of and can add a nice little something extra to the trip. Definitely come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location. Large room and bathroom. Valet v friendly
Love the cookie's on the desk
Complimentary breakfast was replenished quickly. Great stay for independence day. Close to canal st and bourbon st. Also to the river walk

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazama, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised about this hotel. The price was very reasonable with clean rooms and a breakfast included. Another reviewer had it right when she said breakfast is a little frantic. Location in the warehouse district was fine. We walked all through the French quarter which was only blocks from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C Hotel
Q&C Hotel
#11 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing