We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Skegness, Lincs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of March/early April this year and had a wonderful time. We loved the hotel which had a lot of character. Superb location, very close to the French Quarter and splendid facilities. Best experience though was to be found around the bar where we met so many lovely people, all willing to chat. The barman John is fondly remembered, so helpful and entertaining and the inventor of "swamp water", the eye watering cocktail that we had most nights of our stay as also did quite a few of our fellow guests, intrigued by its colour. The only slight downside was the breakfast. We were very happy to learn that the price of the room included breakfast but I have to say there is quite a bit of room for improvement there. However, overall, we were absolutely delighted with the place.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on to the street but there was no problem with that. Coming from a quiet area n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great experience! Thanks for taking the time to share it with us, and the Tripadvisor community. If you have any specific suggestions about breakfast, definitely feel free to contact us directly. More feedback is always useful! We know its a long journey from the UK but hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    783
    151
    54
    32
See reviews for
542
916
94
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a nice location, just slightly outside of the French Quarter. It was nice walking distance to many places. The valet was quite slow however. It was close to $30, and worth the price since parking was tough, but it took a long time to get the car returned. The rooms were nice, nothing extra special, but nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that you had a good stay. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans and we can give you a 5 star experience like we always shoot for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Situated on the edge of the French quarter this hotel was a lovely old building with high roofs and large corridors.
It was a lovely place and reasonably priced, including breakfast which was quite good.

The staff were friendly and helpful and it was situated close by places such as bourbon st but far enough away for peace and quiet if needed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Best experience ever - from the moment we pulled up to valet parking, unloaded our bags, and grabbed a complimentary cookie at the front desk, it was obvious we were special. We had a light and bright one bedroom suite with separate bedroom, huge bathroom, & microwave, refrigerator - huge space for 3 adults and 2 children. Hadn't been in the room 2 minutes when the front desk called to be sure we had everything we needed. EVERY staff member was polite, smiling, and accommodating - valet parking had prompt service. Breakfast was excellent and appreciated to start the day. Front desk very helpful - accommodated our late check out request. We watched the filming of a movie in the street right below our window one evening. Quick walk to Canal Street & straight thru to Decatur to head to all the touristy attractions along the river and French quarter. Close to Ruby Slipper & Mother's restaurants. Excellent pricing - extra $$$$ left for tours. Skip the dark stuffy hotels - this is our NOLA home - thank you, Country Inn & Suites!

Room Tip: Our suite was on 4th FL corner room - very bright with windows on two sides - no one above us - end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwesterner007
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I wasn't sure what to think when I read that I'd booked the Country Inn site unseen from Hotwire. However, it was absolutely beautiful and not like any plain-jane 2-star chain hotel. A nicely converted former warehouse, the ambiance was just as nice as some other higher star hotels I've stayed at in New Orleans. The room was clean and nice (if on the smaller side). The courtyard was lovely with tropical plants and exposed brick. The staff was friendly and very attentive. The free breakfast was very good for a quick stop.

The only drawbacks--as others have said, the small pool is more of a large hot tub. There are weird mini-stairs in each hallway that have to be navigated while you are on your floor. There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, so order out (and pick it up at the front desk area) or wander outside the hotel for dinner. Despite that, it's quite lovely and I'd stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay! The property is far from cookie-cutter, and has a lot of French Quarter charm. As you note, the buildings all date back to the 1860's and have a ton of character which we think really adds to the experience. There are a few quirks, like the staircases, but we have tried to accommodate those with a separate elevator allowing guests to fully skip them if desired.

Thanks for taking the time to share the feedback! Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Cannot wait to spend a few days for the first time in New Orleans, LA. We have three nights booked at your location. I will be traveling with a high school senior who absolutely loves sports! In fact we will be going to the Superdome for the preseason game between the Saints and the Chiefs. Hoping you can provide some guidance as to the safest way to get to and from the game as it doesn't start until 8:00 p.m. Thanks, in advance, for your guidance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Glad to help out - Honestly, the dome is an easy walk about a mile straight up Poydras, and you will be accompanied by thousands of others headed in the same direction (also true on the way back). Between the tailgaters and crowds, it is a fun atmosphere. If you are uncomfortable walking, it is also a short cab ride.

If you have any other questions definitely feel free to contact us directly! Hope you have a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here while attending a conference at the Sheraton just a few minutes away. The room was comfortable and quiet and about half the price of the conference hotel. with a free hot and healthy breakfast which added greatly to the value. Another reviewer who complained about having to go up and down stairs to get to the room apparently wasn't paying attention when directed to the elevator. Our room was on a level half a floor below the main floor too, but a separate elevator around the corner from the main elevators stopped directly at our half floor. Every staff person we dealt with was friendly and efficient--front desk, concierge, and breakfast room. We really appreciated having a refrigerator AND a microwave in our room, and enjoyed the 24/7 hot coffee and snacks in the lobby area as well. Location couldn't have been better--easy walking distance to the French Quarter, public transportation, river walk, and great restaurants--and yet just enough off the beaten path to be quiet at night. And finally there was a great little lending library in the lobby with new books to take and read and return at our next visit to any other Country Inn & Suites. This former librarian couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.