We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Sarasota
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice size rooms for a downtown location. Full breakfast buffet with eggs, sausage, bacon, etc depending on the day. Not far from anything but the shortest distance to the French Quarter. Near all the street car lines and close to the Riverwalk. You must valet park your car at $28/day. It is smart to just leave your car and travel by streetcar. Service at the front desk is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your awesome photo of our city! It's always excited to read that our guests had a wonderful trip, inside and outside of our hotel. We do wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,074
    649
    117
    44
    23
See reviews for
447
762
77
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spent two nights here this week and thought, overall, it was a great hotel. It's clean, the staff is friendly, and the beds/pillows were soft! It's not too far of a walk to the FQ, and they have an OK free continental breakfast each morning.

I took one star away for mediocre toiletries, rough towels, and the fact that our room didn't have a window to the outside. It had a window into the vaulted hallway, which still let in some natural light from the hallway skylight...but still weird. It also made it a bit noisy as we were over the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been staying here for several years now and we keep coming back. This time we brought our daughter who is 2 for her first vacation. When we arrived our room wasn't ready but they were able to get us into another room which was nice since we had a child. The whole staff is very friendly. Our favorite is John the at the bar. He has become a friend and we look forward to seeing him each time! So on your visit there enjoy! This place is GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind words! We appreciate the endorsement! I am glad to hear that everything went great with your stay, and that the staff impressed with their friendliness. John really is a gem and we are lucky to have him! Hopefully you get to come back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was by far one of the nicest Country Inn and Suites I've been to. My family and I were quite surprised by the room, the breakfast, the concierge, and the location. The king suite upgraded with a view of Magazine St was a nice option. We were warmly greeted by the staff who even took the time to acknowledge my son on more than one occasion. The concierge, Tonya, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful and directed us to many great sightseeing, and dining options in the city. The location was perfect. Close to the French Quarters but far enough away for peace and quiet. Over all a very inviting place to stay!

The only suggestion would be more laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the elevator have better Wi-fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time in New Orleans. It seems like you hit on all my favorite things to mention, so I will leave this short and thank you for taking the time to share! We definitely try to go the extra mile to create great guest experiences and we always appreciate hearing feedback. Hopefully your travels bring you back to stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were in New Orleans for Mardi Gras. This hotel is in an excellent location and the breakfast was certainly adequate. The only problem was at check in. Our reservation was for a king bedded room, but the desk clerk said that they only had rooms with twin beds left. I showed him our printed reservation, which we had made nine months earlier. He left the desk and returned with another man who checked our documents then gave us keys for a king room without ever speaking with us and then left. There was no word of an apology.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share the review - Though frustrated to here about the poor communication on the mixup, I am glad that it was remedied and you were still able to have a great stay. We will definitely work with the staff to make sure they are always going the extra mile to make every guest feel at home with us. Hopefully you get to come back to New Orleans again soon and we can really "Wow" you with the type of service we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location and the staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms are very small, but that seems to be the case in New Orleans. They first put us in a room that was only a few feet bigger than the king size bed, but that was better than getting a room with no window, which was our only other choice that night. There was no place to put anything. They moved us the next day to a slightly larger room, but for almost $300 after taxes, both were outrageously small. The towels were scratchy and thin and the bathroom tissues were scratchy. It was clean. That was the good news. The breakfast was basic, but fine. Not the way it appears to be on line. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Magazine St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear that the stay did not live up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on consistently providing great value and memorable experiences for our guests, and it sounds like things fell a little bit short of your (and our own) high expectations. If you would like to address any of the issues in more detail please feel free to contact the hotel directly! Hopefully if you make it back to New Orleans again, you can give us another chance to make your stay great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Country Inn and Suites is located a block and 1/2 down Magazine Street west of Canal which places it just 2 blocks from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from Harrah's. Great location at a good rate. The rooms are simple but clean. Ceilings are very high which makes the rooms seem larger. Our suite was equipped with 2 TVs, a refrigerator, and microwave. This property is cool because it is a restored warehouse. A continental breakfast is included. Nothing special about the food. A courtyard is located in the center of the property with a small pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Glad to hear you felt the stay was a great value - that is always what we are shooting for. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.