We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I want to say bad things, just so you will stay away, and it won't be busy the next time I go. We signed up for their membership online before we went. That got us a free upgrade to a suite. This place is both beautiful and clean. Breakfast is very good every morning, and the coffee bar is available 24 hours. The gym is small, but good machines. We took a taxi to/from the airport for $33 and walked to all the French quarter places we wanted. It's far enough away from Bourbon type streets that u don't get 24 hour noise, too. I saw complaints about the view, but, you ARE in a city, so expect to see either across a street into an office building, or alley. Bed is comfy, hot water is fast, pressure is great. The conference rooms looked typical. Everyone is friendly, and there are cookies at the door.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,033
    603
    111
    42
    22
See reviews for
410
719
74
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was clean, and the staff super friendly. While the hotel isn't exactly in the French quarter, it might as well be: it's a two minute walk away, and it's close to some amazing restaurants and places to grab a drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just got back from a four night stay in New Orleans. This place was great from start to finish! I searched many hotels in the French Quarter area on the internet and this one got very good reviews for a good reason. Location within walking distance to the Superdome and French Quarter made the Country Inn very attractive for our trip which included the Carolina Panthers vs. Saints game. The free breakfast every morning was definitely well above average compared to other hotel chains. All of the staff were very helpful and pleasant during our stay, especially our concierge Mary. She helped us with several tours including the WW II museum, St Louis Cemetery #1 tour, Steamboat Natchez ride and the cable car ride to the Garden District. We did have a problem with one tv in our suite and when it could not be fixed easily our service guy replaced it in about 10 minuites. The beds were comfy, even the pullout sofa according to my son. I would highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds the first night. We were able to upgrade to a two ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Country Inn and Suites on Magazine Street is housed in a beautiful old building that just reeks of history...the service is excellent! the location is very convenient, everything is within walking distance. The breakfast did not have the widest selection, however, the hot coffee and hot chocolate was appreciated. The beds are nice, the rooms are clean and the staff are very accommodating and really try to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. With in a few minutes of checking in, the front desk called to ensure that all was okay in the room, we needed some extra towels, but we went out to take a stroll, by the time we were back, we had the towels in the room. All the staff greet you with a smile, it made our stay all the more comfortable, the hotel is very secure, guests must use their key card to get into the hotel after a certain time, so we felt very safe, in spite of New Orleans' reputation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your most recent trip to New Orleans. Our staff works hard to ensure all guests have an enjoyable stay and we thank you for your compliments. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for five nights mid-December 2012. From the moment we checked in we were pleased with this hotel. We were placed in a roomy suite facing a side street. We really liked this building - apparently it was a Christian book warehouse in the past. Definitely not a cookie cutter hotel, which is a plus in a town like NOLA.

We had a small maintenance issue while we were there, which was handled quickly and professionally. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, with a variety of hot foods each day. The hotel even has a little bar - we had some drinks one evening with some spinach and artichoke dip and enjoyed ourselves.

The location is great - very close to Canal, on a relatively quiet part of Magazine Street. We found no issues with walking to the Quarter and streetcar. However, since I am a native New Orleanian, I must caution people to travel in groups and always be aware of your surroundings. I would think a taxi would be a good choice to get around as well, we saw lots of them travelling around that area.

Finally - keep in mind that the city is getting ready for the Super Bowl at this time and Canal Street is kind of a mess. Just be patient if you are trying to drive in the area - it's a pain.

Thanks Country Inn and Suites - we had a great time and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and that you were able to explore our wonderful city. I do apologize for the maintenance issue you experienced, but I am happy to see that it was dealt with in a timely manner. We do hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavaca, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites on a Saturday night before leaving on a Christmas cruise. I found this hotel on the Internet and we were not disappointed. It was a beautiful, historic place. It is on the national register of historic places and it does not disappoint. The hotel was in walking distance of the French quarter and we enjoyed that.

The staff was very friendly and knowledgable, the rooms were great and the complimentary breakfast on Sunday morning was really good. The hotel was completely full the night we were there and the breakfast line was well stocked. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel was very nice!. Friendly staff. Bathroom and Room clean and pretty. Breakfast included and with plenty of choices. They had cookies at the front desk all day and complementary coffee, which was good. I enjoyed having access to coffee and various flavors of tea in the lobby area, this was a plus for us. The location was exellent, near the French Quarter and mueum district in a quite area.

Room Tip: room near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Tingo and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.