We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, very comfortable and clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Langley, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Ideal location, very comfortable and clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Country Inn and Suites is on Magazine Street just off Canal Street and only a couple of blocks from all the French Quarter activity. A couple blocks the other direction is the Riverwalk along the Mississippi, Harrah's Casino and all 3 streetcar routes run within blocks of the hotel. Lot of dining choices, entertainment and shopping options all around. A great quiet location. The hotel also had lots of character as it has been developed from a number of historic buildings. Our room was spacious with two comfortable queen beds, desk, TV, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Room rate included free wifi and buffet breakfast (beverages and mix of hot and cold selections; different hot selections each morning). Hotel has a spacious lobby with comfortable chairs and a small bar, complimentary coffee round the clock and a nice little courtyard with pool which we did not use. This would definitely be the place that I would stay on a return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your fanatastic review of your recent trip to New Orleans! We're so excited you found our location ideal for all your site seeing needs. There is so much to see and do in our area and we're pleased you enjoyed youselves. Thanks again for visiting us at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    570
    100
    39
    21
See reviews for
373
666
67
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hempstead, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and I would completely recommend this hotel when you visit New Orleans. The staff is so attentive and everyone we encountered even passing in the halls gave us a warm smile and a hello. The location is just about 2 blocks from the start of the French Quarter, but in a quiet safe area.
The concierge and front desk were so helpful and friendly and the daily fresh baked cookies were delicious. The breakfast was above par and much more than usual for a free breakfast bar.
The rooms were fine as well. In all our travels, I have never received a welcome phone call after we arrived and a call the night before we checked out to make sure that everything was to our satisfaction during our stay. Top knotch and reasonably priced so as far as we are concerned, Country Inn & Suites is the best hotel deal in New Orleans.
Terry & Alex Simon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans. Whenever we read comments like yours it always gives us such great pleasure. Our "Country Callbacks" are one of many added touches our staff loves to provide for our valued guests. Our entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel just a couple of blocks from the French Quarter! This area (known as 'downtown' between the FQ and the Warehouse District (where the convention center is) is safe and quiet, and away from the madness that can sometimes engulf the quarter.
The hotel itself is warm and inviting. It's actually a collection of historic structures which have been converted in a hotel - so every room is a little different in it's architectural details. We had several calls from the front desk asking if everything was going well with our stay, and asking if we needed anything. There are fresh cookies for the taking at the front desk, 24/7 coffee and tea, the breakfast buffet has something for everyone with everything from eggs, to yogurt, fresh cut fruit, waffles, oatmeal etc etc. And the wireless Internet service is very good and we were on the 4th floor!!
To top it off, the price for a room here is more than reasonable! We had a one bedroom suite with a pull out couch for our daughter. The room had a microwave and a small fridge - which was perfect for storing leftovers! During the weekdays of our stay (which was early December) we paid under $100 a night.
If you don't know New Orleans, the location is perfect. The French Quarter is a 5 minute walk away. The casino and streetcars are also 5 minutes or so. And some of the best restaurants in NOLA are nearby or just a short walk! In fact, most tourist attractions are just a short walk away from this wonderful hotel!
We go to NOLA several times a year for business and family, and will not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors as some room overlook the atrium hallway and can get rather noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
That is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful stay! It is our utmost goal for all guests to have a great stay and we thank you for sharing your kind words. Next time you're in town make sure to come visit us again at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just got back from 2 nights in NO before a cruise. Hotel is in a great location - basically hang a left out of the hotel front door and voila! maybe 5-8 minutes later you're in the French Quarter. Easy and safe walk to Riverwalk and Casino as well. Concierge desk and staff was terrific, had great recommendations and info on what events were going on each day. In our case, there was a really fun Christmas parade that coincided with our stay that we would have missed if the desk hadn't brought it to our attention as we were heading out that morning. Also worth noting, Mother's Restaurant is right around the corner and hands down is the best bang for the buck for authentic NO food. Very basic but fun place with awesome Po Boys, Red Beans and Rice and Jambalaya to name a few. Definitely recommend for lunch in particular, lines go very fast, seating opens up quickly too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights prior to going on a cruise. Our room had two beds in it and was very clean. The room looked as it did on their website. The room we had did not have a good view out of the window, we were on the 5th floor and looked out into an alley of another buliding.They have a small bar off the lobby, which worked out fine for a drink on the way to the room. We really didn't take advantage of the free breakfast other than coffee, juice and a bagle. There was a great breakfast place just across the street called the Ruby Slipper, very busy, but worth it. This hotel is a little odd in how it was built, kind of like a maze getting to certain floors from the elevator. Everyone at the hotel was nice and helpful. We did experience a issue with getting a wheelchair for the other couple we went with, as the chair broke as our friend frist sat in it, the hotel later tried to fix it, but then after a while, brought up a perfectly good one for use. The hotel fixed this issue very quickly. I would stay here again if I was to go to NOLA again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day trip. This is an amazing hotel you just have to experience. First of all, the front desk staff is the best I've ever encountered anywhere!!! They even greet you every day by your name. Incredible, when you realize how expansive this hotel is...very historic, built from 7 buildings dating from the 1860's, with high ceilings and windows. And the location can't be beat, just a block and 1/2 from Canal on Magazine St. Get you a one day or 3 day Jazzy Pass and you have unlimited street car and bus fare anywhere in the city... I will definately stay here my next visit. I picked this hotel because of all the previous high ratings, and I can say, they were spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a lot of windows. I did not try the free breakfasts, but the coffee selections...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while we were in New Orleans and loved it! Very comfortable and clean hotel in a great location. The free breakfast was delicious and they had a nice variety. We had an executive king room with a sofa bed. The room had huge windows overlooking Magazine Street and we even got to watch a wedding take place in the courtyard across from the hotel. Valet service was great too, we called down 10 minutes before we planned to checkout and by the time we got downstairs our car was already pulled up front. I would definitely stay here again. Staff was very friendly too.

Room Tip: We got an executive king room and the additional cost was well worth it for the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Venere, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelsClick so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.