We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST hotels off of Canal Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Charlotte
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the BEST hotels off of Canal Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visiting New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival, I wanted to have a room that was close to downtown and all of the festivities. I couldn’t have asked for better accommodations than what Country Inn and Suites offered. The rooms were extremely spacious, clean and comfortable.

For my 5 day, 4 night vacay, I had originally booked the hotel for two nights and was suppose to stay at another hotel for the remaining two nights. But because I was so pleased with my stay, I decided to stay at CI&S for the remaining two nights and cancelled my reservations for the other hotel. CI&S was booked solid for the two nights that I needed, however, Natalie, who was so nice, helpful, considerate, and personable the entire stint of my stay, searched “high and low” for availability and was able to accommodate my party and I for additional nights with some additional perks. She checked on us periodically throughout our stay to make sure we were happy.

The entire staff was so friendly and helpful with giving information about New Orleans being that it was my first visit. The valet staff consisted of young men who were also very professional and complete gentlemen.

Some highs/pros:
- Full breakfast every morning
- 24-hour fitness room
- Valet parking (with a $25 fee per night) – not really a “pro” but parking fees are apparently all over the city so….*shrugs*
- Microfridge/microwave in rooms
- Flat screen TVs
- Free internet
- Others (computers available with free print, free fax, snack bar, wine and sprits bars)

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in New Orleans. On a scale of 1-10, my trip was an 11, and staying at this hotel helped in determining my score. I plan to visit NO again very soon and when I do, this hotel will be first on my list to consider.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are extremely small, so make sure you select the room appropriate for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Hello kjg0813, that's one of the best compliments I've ready all day! We always strive to provide excellent customer service and we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your sweet comments regarding Nathalie, she is a great asset to our hotel and we are so lucky to have her. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,052
    629
    114
    43
    22
See reviews for
435
742
74
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield Park, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were in town for a family wedding and this location was perfect for everything. Close enough to walk to all of the things we wanted to do for sight-seeing and for getting together with family and friends who had come into town for the event as well. Staff was wonderful. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again when we come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Hello Tricia S, our entire staff thanks you for your kind words! We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and that you had fun exploring. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here for July 3rd-5th. Within walking distance to French Quarter, Great shopping and dining. Short walk to Bourbon Street. We walked down Decatur and found a wonderful spot to watch the fireworks! The hotel was beautiful. In our room one wall was brick, and very stunning. The room was very clean and had a great view. Breakfast was wonderful and changed each morning. We couldn't have picked a better location for a stay within walking distance of everything. When there check out the Concierge service. Diana is awesome and very knowledgeable about the area. We booked an awesome New Orleans tour of the city, and it was well worth it. Our guide Henry was awesome! The only complaint I have is the valet parking charge was $25. You have to pay to park all over New Orleans since there aren't really any lots. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hello mwellman11, weren't the 4th of July fireworks maginificent? Viewing the extravagant firework show over the Missippi River is definetly a site to see. We're so excited you were able to take the New Orleans City Tour and explore our great city. Our entire staff thanks you for your wonderful compliments and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a three night stay at the County Inn - it exceeded my expectations. Although arriving several hours prior to check-in, our luggage was easily stored by the bell staff and the front desk contacted us by cell phone when our room was ready. Although the king room was small, it had wonderful floor to ceiling windows, exposed brick and a lovely view of the lush courtyard (I recommend room 329 - accessed by the rear [not main] elevator). The room was immaculate, the bed was comfy and the shower's water pressure was excellent. What was most surprising to me was the level of service -- the front desk clerks were ready and willing to accept my outgoing mail (they even had post card stamps!) or call a taxi; the concierge staff was friendly and knowledgeable (and not afraid to give their opinions); the breakfast staff were efficient and all-smiles (even when a guest overflowed the waffle batter all over the tabletop/floor) and the bartender was glad to offer libations and snacks. It was a welcoming oasis to return to after a long, hot day and the cookies were an extra treat. Loved the computer stations in the lobby; the clean and well-equipped fitness room; the book loan program and the serene pool/outdoor seating area. Will definitely return to this wonderful hotel again. Kudos for your terrific service and cost-effective pricing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Hi Samantha K, exceeding expectations is what we do best! Our staff works very hard to ensure all guests receive an immaculate guestroom, superb service, and enjoyable visit. I'll pass along your wonferful comments to our team; it will make their day! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New J ersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Three of us shared a king bed suite on the fourth floor for a 3 night girls weekend. This hotel was convenient to shopping, Harrahs, the Riverwalk and Bourban Street, we were able to walk. The room was large enough to be comfortable for 3. It had a small refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was available every morning and while during this time we did find it noisier then other times, we did not mind it for it signaled to us the beginning of our day! Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful and we found the hotel clean and charming. We especially were grateful to the two young men Sunday evening who went out of their way to find us a taxi on a very slow night. We will definitely stay in this hotel again. By the way.....the cookies were delicious:)

Room Tip: Go for the suite, we found it to be a good value. This hotel offers free WIFI as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Hi Carleen M! Thank you for choosing us for your recent Girls Night in New Orleans! Our fantatic city is one of the best places for great nightlife, amazing music, and fantastic food. It is great to see you enjoyed yourselves and we thank you for your great compliments. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a hotel that gets everything right! Rooms are clean and gorgeous, staff is amazing, complimentary hot breakfast is great, and service is impeccable. The hotel location is within easy walking distance to the French Quarter. They have a fantastic system for keeping bags for early/late check in/outs. We travel extensively, and this hotel is a a charming stand-out even compared with luxury hotels. We truly felt like family after a three night stay at the Country Inn New Orleans. Thanks to Andrew and Kylie for making our stay one to remember. Management should be truly proud of their entire staff. By the way, my family loved the fresh cookies in the lobby . . . could it get any better?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
What a wonderful title to your review! We're so happy our staff and our services were to your liking and that you had a fantastic time. Our complimentary cookies are great aren't they? Thanks again for visiting us and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in May and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is unique being a combination of 7 warehouses, made into the hotel, with a nice atrium providing pleasant surroundings for our free hot breakfast with a good variety of food, even items that you could take with you. Its location is ideal to get to French Quarter, Bourbon St., and the waterfront, or Harrahs Casino. There is also mall nearby, aquarium, and IMAX, Booked my hotel through Entertainment book, that gave me better rate than booking from hotel website, using entertainment hotel bucks. It was our first trip to New Orleans and the hotel helped to make our visit a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.