We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Country Suites. We could walk to any location we wanted, the French Quarter, Canal Street, Riverwalk, Harrah's, not to mention all the good restaurants. We thought the free breakfast was good. The breakfast had hot food, fruit, muffins, waffles, oatmeal with toppings, yogurt, juices, dry cereal and more. Best of all coffee is available 24/7. There was always plenty of room to sit with the tables located outside the breakfast room. We are sorry we didn't take advantage of the food that can be ordered during Happy Hour at the bar. The suite was spacious and we liked the separate shower in the bathroom. We were on the first floor facing Magazine Street and the possible noise was not a problem. The staff was always courteous and ready to solve any problem (our only problem was our remote didn't have batteries). We felt safe walking back to the hotel after dark. Don't miss this unique downtown hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Glad you had a great time in New Orleans! The breakfast was actually revamped this year with great new offerings. From biscuits and gravy to turkey bacon, the rotating hot items really include something for everyone. I like the make your own waffles (which are available every day) personally! It doesn't get much better than one of those in the outdoor courtyard area!

Thanks for taking the time to share the kind words. We hope you get a chance to come back to New Orleans soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    701
    126
    48
    30
See reviews for
482
824
82
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Aurora
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This hotel is in the heart of New Orleans.You can walk to french Quater,River Walk, Casino and Many of the best restraunts.This hotel was perfect for a long weekend in the Big Easy.All of hotel staff went out of thier way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.The front desk was great all that worked it.Very Good.This hotel will be my choice from now on,Once again I can not say enough about the staff there.

Room Tip: try not to get a room that has an R location (a little small) if you are offered a suite for $12 a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed at Country Inn and Suites while at a convention in November, 2011. It was not the convention hotel but was close and considerably less expensive. The location of the hotel is good, it is about 2 blocks from Canal Street and 4 blocks down from Bourbon St. The French Quarter is close as is the Warehouse District and, not much further, the Garden District.

Check in was quick and easy. Getting to my room was a little more difficult. I was on the 3rd floor and had to go up and down (after taking the elevator to the 3rd floor) 3 sets of short stairs to get to my room, bags in tow. This was inconvenient. I found a closer elevator later, which required only one set of steps, but still annoying.
The room, with a single king size bed, was small but very clean. The television was at an odd angle and thus difficult to see, but I didn't watch much so it didn't bother me.
My first morning I signed off on "no room cleaning" because I had work to do and didn't want to be disturbed. I went out for lunch and when I came back somebody had cleaned the room anyway, and that was bothersome. I also don't understand why hotels put out the "save the environment" cards regarding towels and linens, I returned towels to the towel-bar, but they were changed anyway. Really don't need the greenwashing.
The hotel advertises free breakfast; I went once and it wasn't good. Micro-waved bacon and not very good biscuits and gravy. Far too many great restaurants in NOLA to bother with the b-fast here.
Price included internet, which I appreciate.

Overall, and for the price it is a fine place to stay and my wife and I will be staying there when we go down in December.

Cheers

Room Tip: Many parts of the hotel are not accessible, I assume there are accessible rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

this hotel is so close to walking everywhere - we never took a cab, except to and from to airport, we walked everywhere even to mardi gras museum and if you look at the map it is far away and the river is close to walk too -

Room Tip: call before you go - i was to get a room with 2 Q - it wasn't there when i got there but they di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

The location was very good for access to the French Quarter. I was only there one night so I wanted to check out the area. I walked all the way to Bourbon St. and back with no problem. The hotel is about half a block from the next busy street, close enough to walk around but no problem with noise.
The valet and bell staff were quick to help me at all times. I think valet is the only option due to the city. The manager, front desk and concierge were also helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your review! Our central location does lend itself to hitting a lot of great sites, even if you only have a short stay. We are right in the middle of it all - Within minutes you can get to the Quarter, Superdome, Casino, Riverwalk, WWII museum, and even the streetcar! Glad that everything lived up to your expectations. Hopefully next time you get to stay a little bit longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Wonderful location and staff. The building is amazing when you think about how they renovated it. Breakfast was a great addition. We were pleased with our choice to stay here- would definately return to this hotel

Room Tip: The king size room was tiny. Not a huge deal as we were not in it often
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Glad you had a great trip to New Orleans. As you note - the buildings renovations are pretty amazing. Being 7 historic buildings that have been preserved throughout the renovations, every room can be a little bit different with regards to size and floorplan. The architects really did a great job keeping the traditional aspects while making sure the spaces are comfortable!

Thanks for writing, and we hope you do get to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was in New Orleans for a conference at the Marriott, but didn't want to pay the cost for rooms reserved in that hotel. This hotel was about 2 blocks away and was great. The service was outstanding, the price was right (it event included a good breakfast), good location with lots of attractions in walking distance or you could catch the trolly quickly. The hotel was lovely and rooms were very attractive and clean. Our only problem was the remote was gone and the new one didn't want to work, but then again I wasn't there to watch tv. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The bartender was great, so funny and friendly even when we weren't buying drinks. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and would not hesitate to recommend a friend.

Room Tip: We were on first floor by the alley and it was quiet. There was a service door that was close and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Glad to hear you had a great stay. The location is great for business or leisure (or a little bit of both!) - and it sounds like you got to take advantage of that. I can't say I know what happened with the TV remote, but I do know that all rooms were recently upgraded to brand new LCD TV's, so the troubleshooting hiccup might have been a result of not having dealt with that particular problem before!

Thank you for taking the time to share - We definitely appreciate the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Carlson, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.