We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great informal cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Beignet on Royal

Cafe Beignet on Royal
334B Royal Street, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
504-524-5530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #207 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great informal cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good beignets and coffee plus tasty sandwiches and reasonably prompt service overcome limited seating and crowds. Very conveniently located on Royal St.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    196
    70
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Go here - less of a line and worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been to Cafe Beignet two years in a row. Last year we hit both Cafe Du Monde and Cafe Beignet because our daughter had not been to NOLA before - so you have to do Du Monde at least once! But the beignets are just as good at Cafe Beignet and the line is much shorter. They have a quaint little courtyard where you can people watch Royal Street. Or if the tables are all full you can walk down the street a bit toward Jackson Square and sit on the stairs of a building - very European feeling. I've seen other people order real food here and it looks good, but we've only had the coffee and beignets.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Busy off te beaten tourist track classic New Orleans Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I hesitate to even post. This place has been a long time favorite of mine after a good friend introduce me to it. It's perfect for breakfast, always busy but seems to be off the typical tourist routes.
It is next to the police station and that Alon may explain why the Beignet's are some of the best I've had
All the classic New Orleans breakfast fare and some great alternatives
Nice easy goon ambiance and a great garden seating area when it's warm enough

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fun little Coffee shop for a snack or lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stopped in for Beignets and coffee. The service was friendly and prompt. The Beignets were prepared when I ordered them so they were delicious. I also saw several people eating sandwiches and they looked very good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy beignets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for beignets and coffee - hit the spot. Service was quick and friendly (come early!). Convenient location in the French Quarter - just a stone 's throw from my hotel.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Beignet on Royal also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Beignet on Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Beignet on Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.