We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Court Jazz Cafe

Palm Court Jazz Cafe
1204 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-2608 (French Quarter)
504-525-0200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Walking back from Frenchman's and needed a potty. Figured we'd get a drink and continue our stroll. Opened the door to reveal a 7 piece Preservation Hall type jazz band complete with the 100 year old 'leader'. Only left when they took a break. We'll definitely go back on our next visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    69
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great music, Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Awesome jazz, dinner excellent! Had the Prime Rib, cooked to perfection, Mint Juleps great!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expensive, but a lovely jazz dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Food was delicious, but I think they over charged us. The jazz was wonderful and we wish we had discovered this place the last time we came. The oyster dinner dish was divine, just wish it was a little more portion.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Jazz at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Recommended to us, and a nice, moderately-priced restaurant for dinner with live jazz. Small-to-medium-sized room. Good service. Good food. I think we only paid about $85-90 for 2 people with drinks.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Jazz and Cafe in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The music is just wonderful and the place is First Class.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court Jazz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Palm Court Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Court Jazz Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.