We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah! felix,s Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Felix's Restaurant and Oyster Bar

Felix's Restaurant and Oyster Bar
739 Iberville Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-522-4440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ah! felix,s Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I fondly recall Felix,s from my Tulane days. Its as good as ever. Got seated immediately by v pleasant staff. Oyster po boy x o lint. My wifes shrimp "divine" in her words. Oysters Rock were fabulous. Great to be in NOLA agin.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    544
    160
    65
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I will never understand why people wait in line for the competing oyster bar across the street when Felix has it all.,Fresh oysters, raw of grilled or cooked, are all amazing! The staff are friendly and entertaining. Cold oysters on the half-shell, ice-cold beers, no wait. Perfection!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Wanted to try Oysters while in NOLA so we headed to Acme Oyster House...line all the way down the block so went to Felix. Simple place, not the tourist draw but the food was good and reasonable. I loved the chargrilled oysters. Also tried the deep fried breaded shrimp, oysters, catfish. Very good as well. Wish we would've tried raw oysters too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Oysters and red beans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I live on the West Coast and we get fantastic oysters here. The last time I was in New Orleans we had oysters at the "famous" place and I didn't like them. When I saw the oysters on the grill in the kitchen at Felix's I decided to try them.

Needless to say they were magnificent! The red beans and rice side we got with them were heavenly! I'm trying to duplicate the recipes for both of these items.

We actually came back another night and didn't have the oyster and

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Across the street from the famous acme oyster house with a line around the block. Was told they both get oysters from same place and Felix' s came highly recommended wit good reason. Sampled the raw and baked oysters. The baked were soooo good and the raw meaty and delicious. Also had the 1/2 poboy (crawfish) and jambalaya ... It's a wonder I can still zip up my pants after four days in NOLA .. And the food here was the best of many wonderful places.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felix's Restaurant and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Felix's Restaurant and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Felix's Restaurant and Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.