We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original & Value ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bennachin Restaurant

Bennachin Restaurant
1212 Royal St, Frnt, New Orleans, LA 70116-2588 (French Quarter)
504-522-6746
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #382 of 1,602 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: African, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Original & Value ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The food is amazing. The menu not too big, not too limited. Amazing service. This place is full on New Orleans - the bathroom is out the back , through the kitchen. This is the place to go on the "take it easy night" if you are having a few nights in NOLA. We asked for spicy everything and it was perfect. Not too crazy hot. Not too tourist cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

im a vegan and this place was recommended to me. it is a small little restaurant located in a more quiet area of the french. it small with funky decor. we sat at the window and had lunch. we ordered lentil and veggie soup and it was great. i also recommend the blackeyed pea fritter on french bread...think it was an appetizer. i would go back just to eat the fritter thing..really different but tasty. laid back casual atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good,healthy food,friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

wanted a change from our 5day New Orleans "fried food fest" and drinkathon. found it here at this tiny colorful restaurant, staffed by the nicest folks. We ordered yasa chicken which was accompanied by cabbage,carrots and cous cous and bread roll. We really liked the red beans and coconut rice, black eyed pea fritters and the sauce. Very easy on the digestion and wallet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well-spiced and inexpensive lunch prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Years ago, I went with a friend for a multi course dinner and we brought our own wine. The food has always had strong flavors that go well with one another. The bread melts in your mouth, the chicken is cooked just right and the greens are a great texture. I made a point to return on a later trip that was more recent and had lunch instead which is much of the same food at a lower price. The portions may or may not be smaller as I don't recall. It is on my list of stops whenever I go back to New Orleans.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“like the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Small restaurant serving some african dishes. We were quickly seated by the hostess which was a plus. He was quite pleasant and efficient. Really like the lentil soup and a dish that was like a modified gumbo for people who do not eat shrimp and pork. It was reall good. Large portions were served that could easily serve 2 or 3 people. There was also a ginger tea that was served that I really liked

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennachin Restaurant also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Bennachin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennachin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.