We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly Dog is pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ugly Dog Saloon

Ugly Dog Saloon
401 Howard Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
504.569.8459
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #721 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ugly Dog is pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant twice, both times were marvelous. I tend to order sandwiches while my husband orders a meal. We love the smoky flavors and BBQ sauce that the Ugly Dog serves. They are located in the warehouse district of New Orleans. While we love the food, we had to take a cab to the restaurant. That is my only negative comment, you have to add the tab of the cab unless you are already in the neighborhood! Please try this restaurant, it compares to the best BBQ food anywhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    8
    14
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great BBQ at neighborhood hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Reasonably priced food. Eat in or take back to the hotel. My partner fell in love with the famous coleslaw and BBQ. Also recommend the cuban sandwhich. Don't bother with the salad - just romaine lettuce and croutons. Go! Relax! Have a beer and a tasty meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food, cool atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Cole slaw blew my mind! Very cajun flavored, never had anything like it. Ordered the brisket too, which was absolutely delicous. Tender and flavorful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bbq lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went for lunch with several friends during Mardi Gras. Order at the bar and they call your number. Macaroni and cheese was pretty good. Had an ok chopped chicken sandwiches. Everyone else raved over their rotisserie chicken, burgers, and ribs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

this is a place i sent allot of my tourist too under a recomedation of a fellow tour guide. nice older whole in the wall place/bar me and a friend went ,ended up getting a roast beef poboy and Cole slaw. i think i should have went with the bbq it was a different take on Cole slaw but good i think the roast beef poboy would have been better if they had real french bread to me french bread should be kinda crusty with a little pull back to it but the roast and gravy was chunky style but with a great taste. ill be back to try BBQ out

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugly Dog Saloon also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Ugly Dog Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ugly Dog Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.