We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Barbeque Shrimp you have found heaven.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
201 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2226 (French Quarter)
504-523-2078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“If you like Barbeque Shrimp you have found heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were here in late August and have dined here several times. This time they didn't disappoint us either. The Barbeque Shrimp here are possibly the best I've ever had. No other restaurant in New Orleans does it as tangy, spicy and downright terrific. They also provide their homemade bread to dip in the sauce that ensures no sauce is wasted.

I have had other items on the menu and they were all great but the shrimp here are why you should come. If you are lucky, you can be seated by the Ronald Reagan memorial plaque against the wall/ corner all the way to the left as you walk in the door.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,382
    567
    213
    70
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Would NOT recommend. There were a few good things like, beautiful ambiance, VERY upscale, looked like a fancy movie set. The menu had an okay selection, small, but broad. The Garlic Truffle Fries were the best part of the whole experience for me. My husband ordered the BBQ Shrimp, which he enjoyed, but because he had to peel the shrimp that was already drenched in it's BBQ sauce, it was not his favorite thing. He said he wouldn't order it again. The “BBQ” is not Kansas City BBQ, it's very different BBQ, which was fine, he thought it tasted great. I ordered the Garlic Chicken, which was highly recommended, I honestly just kept thinking how much better my cooking is. While the restaurant is a whole experience in itself, I wouldn't recommend it at all. The waitstaff was substantial (we had three different people that were supposed to be “taking care” of us), but I still couldn't get a single one of them to come over to the table for water even. VERY disappointing considering the cost of our meal! Outrageous! Especially for such poor service! I felt like I was paying for their interior designer, NOT the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Must Try BBQ Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was another must visit again experience. Starting with an unbelievable BBQ shrimp appetizer with a nice drink at the bar with a great bartender. Wife asked how do I "politely" eat these huge shrimp, bartender told her to hold fork in right hand with knife in left hand then throw both back over your shoulders and use your hands. All with a straight face then a huge grin. Offered bibs and lots of cloth napkins. Came with toasted rolls that quickly disappeared after being coated with the BBQ sauce. This was a home run. Dinner was a huge soft shell crab that was perfectly cooked and another meal to remember.
Worse part was being too full to finish a fantastic dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and grand service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Wonderful wonderful wonderful. We loved everything we ordered. Servers were excellent. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the start to finish this place is very good. It is a little pricey but the every dish was very tasty and well presented.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. B's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.