We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
201 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2226 (French Quarter)
504-523-2078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sumptuous.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Took a chance with no reservations at 6 pm with 2 other couples and lucked out on a Sunday night Memorial Day weekend. Had the BBQ Shrimp appetizer. Same as main course only 4 shrimp instead of 7-8. Can't even begin to describe this dish. Simply outatanding, copied recipe out of the cookbook. Main course was the Bacon wrapped shrimp on grits--so delicious!! Robert our waiter and staff were extremely friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Soft shell crab with lump crabmeat was also delicious. A must go to place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,537
    653
    238
    77
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great First NOLA Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went to Mr. B's for my first meal during my first trip to New Orleans, LA (NOLA), based on reviews on tripadvisor, and it was a great choice. When I was getting of the plane and was talking to the flight attendant who lived in NOLA, Mr. B's was her first recommendation. The restaurant is centrally located if you are staying in the Bourbon Street-Canal Street area, and was easy to walk to. The atmosphere was business casual - collared shirts and slacks for the men was just fine - and the noise level was fine, for a restaurant full of people having a great time and celebrating birthdays, etc.

The wait staff was dressed formally - black pants, white shirt, black vest and bow tie - which made the impression of professionalism and tradition; very nice. The food, wow, as good as advertised, with all of the creole and cajun influences you would expect - our family had the incredbile gumbo and BBQ shrimp (butter/pepper sauce), and beech-smoke bacon wrapped prawns on cheese grits - WOW! The portion size was perfect also, as the food was very rich, by nature. And my son had a great filet mignon since he isn't a huge shellfish fan. The desserts were also wonderfully presented and the perfect finish to a great meal. Also, this won't be a two-hour dining experience (unless you want it to be), they are very attentive and keep the food coming, but you never feel rushed. My second-best meal in NOLA after the Commanders Palace, which is a different type of experience (with a different price tag.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First Mr B's has never let us down. It is always our first dinner when in town. We always get the rabbit and love it. Ask for Chris as your waiter and you will be treated better than you ever dreamed of in a restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“New Orleans Best Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

New Orleans has many fine restaurants which most people plan for dinner in the evening. Mr. B's Bistro is one of the places that should be a 'must' for lunch one day while in New Orleans. It just doesn't get an better food, service or reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Lives up to the Reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant my wife and I have been to NOLA many times and are always looking for a great place to eat. This place lives up to the expectations. Tried the Fried Oysters on the half shell.... even if you are not sure about oysters, like me, these things were awesome! Service was great too my wife was cold and they brought her a warm wrap and was extremely attentive to detail, drink never got half empty. We had 2 good size apps coconut shrimp and bbq shrimp and price was in the 60 dollar range, so a little pricey but would have paid that again for the way we were treated!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. B's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.