We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ Shrimp is Scrumptious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
201 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2226 (French Quarter)
504-523-2078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BBQ Shrimp is Scrumptious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Showed up on a Thursday without reservations. The wait was 30minutes so we went down the street to have some wine in a lovely patio at a wine bar. Once we returned our table was ready and we were immediately seated. The service was professional and friendly. Most of us had the BBQ shrimp which was great but the shrimp and grits were a great surprise. Bread pudding was superb. Will return next time in NOLA.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,382
    567
    213
    70
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fair enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wa hoping for something a bit more spectacular due to the high rating on Tripadvisor. The Food was good enough, but nothing more. I had a rib steak without bones, didn't really taste that much, all though the side dish was interesting.
Seriously didn't like the Gumbo we were recommended, but think thats the dish itself and not the restaurants fault. Just not to my liking.

Fair enough Place to grab a bite, nice staff

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad service. Fake excuses. Don't go.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Came to New Orleans for a vacation weekend. Only having 2 nights to go out, we wanted to make it good. Arrived for our 8:30 reservation, we're told our table was being set. It took 20 minutes to set our table. Just couldn't get any food! 3 ordered gumbo, two got it. Was told that mine would be later because it was a hot entree (?). My brother's seafood gumbo had one small shrimp in it. I had ordered a salad and two appetizers, after waiting while others ate, two of my plates came at once. We made the mistake of ordering dessert, which took another half hour. We had ordered a bottle of red wine, it was warm and had to be iced down. It was simply an evening where nothing went right, I spent most of the evening without anything to eat, the staff gave weak unapologetic excuses. I won't go back and I'll recommend that you don't even try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We just finished dinner at Mr. B.'s and loved it. We took five guests from China and they loved it, too. Kenneth and Len were wonderful servers and the food was fabulous. We all either had the barbecue shrimp or the grilled fish. Excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent food, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent food! Shrimp and grits, pork chop and rabbit are excellent. Friendly wait staff. Ask for Otis and Clarence. You won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. B's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.