We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner - excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
201 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2226 (French Quarter)
504-523-2078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner - excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

While I love gumbo and southern food in general, after being in New Orleans for almost a week i decided it was time for a good steak.

I stopped by at lunch time with a business friend and asked about reservations for dinner. They only had a few spots open, so I opted for 5:30 pm when they open.

We arrived at 5:15 and had to wait a few minutes for our table. The waiter was top notch and was quick with some fresh bread and drinks. For dinner I ordered the Filet Mignon and my friend had the Wood Grilled Fish.

Both were excellent and prepared just right.

We were both full so we skipped desert.

Overall this is a great place for dinner and at half the price of some of the more popular spots like Felix's or Acme. Also the restaurant was not loud and you could actually have a conversation.

I will be back next time I am in town!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,383
    568
    213
    70
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food and attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice change from all the creole places in NO. Food was well prepared and service was good. A little on the loud side but overall a nice experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Bloody Mary's - awful gumbo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

They have a 1.50 Bloody Mary special that was hard to pass up and they were very tasty. we had fried oysters which were expensive but also really tasty. The gumbo was a huge disappointment . Neither one of us finished ours. The attentive staff never asked if anything was wrong with it so I'm guessing they knew it wasn't very good. it had a terrible aftertaste. maybe it was old?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“expensive and service was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

very crowded, not well layed out, poor service, nearly left when the bar keep, was really rude when we were blocking access, didnt mean to, if it wasnt for spouse and friends would have left.....
more than one way to deal with situations
the food was good, the fish overcooked, the steak was quite good, our waiter was delighful,
was too expensive for what you got
would not recommend or return
Luke

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate here for lunch - looked like its popular with the business crowd, but we didn't have to wait for a table. My hubby had the fried catfish and I had the buffalo chicken salad - both were excellent. Waiters were a bit stuffy until I talked to them... then they warmed up :)
With wine and beer, not a cheap lunch, but good enough to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. B's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.