We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to go...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
201 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2226 (French Quarter)
504-523-2078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had to go...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had to stop by because we heard so much about this place. The place was packed on a Tuesday night so they must've doing something right. To be honest, I was a bit disappointed. My wife's chicken was overcooked. My shrimp was also a bit overcooked. The food was good but I would not return since there are so many other great seafood spots in NOLA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,533
    652
    236
    77
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arley, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Best Gumbo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As advertised, the gumbo is the best we have tried in New Orleans. We decided to try three bowls of gumbo, fried oysters, and sea scallops. All were great, but we must say that the YaYa and seafood gumbo should be a requirement of any visit. While there is a casual atmosphere, the service is on a level of the more classic restaurants in the Quarter such as Arnaud's and Antoine's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Our First Dining Out Experience in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We tried this restaurant on our first evening in New Orleans as it was directly opposite our hotel in Royal Street. Excellent food and service, would definitely recommend. During our week's stay in NO we discovered why the city is not only famous for Jazz but also its food. To be fair, everywhere we ate was marvellous!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I visit New Orleans once a month and we always include Mr. B's as a must stop
for lunch, brunch (Sun) or dinner. Owned by a member of the Brennan family, you will most assuredly enjoy almost any offering on the menu. Pat is one of the many fine servers and although we have no complaints about any member of the staff, he is our favorite. I am a gumbo lover and Mr. B's has some of the best in the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2nd time back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved our meal at Mr. B's so much the first time we were in New Orleans, we went back a second time. The barbeque shrimp are a must!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. B's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.