We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! Decent food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
201 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2226 (French Quarter)
504-523-2078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,515 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Great service! Decent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went there for the BBQ Shrimp and wasn't disappointed. This was our first meal in NOLA and set the bar pretty high. The service was excellant and our waiter really made some decent suggestions. I loved how the bread came out in an individually wrapped paperWe decided to have a bunch of different appetizers. The BBQ Shrimp was the best (Compared it to Deanies and NOLA). It was messy but I think that was part of the point. Fried Oysters were also really good. I would return if given the opportunity.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,533
    652
    236
    77
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Must When In New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Food and service were amazing. The signature shrimp dish was worth the mess and it was a generous amount of food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Got a table in the back through the kitchen. Staff were helpful with suggestions. Mid price range with a good menu range of seafood and meat dishes

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“O.M.G.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

These shrimp and grits? Amazing! Best meal I had in NO and best shrimp and grits I've ever had! Mixed berry cobbler was worth squeezing in as all well. Don't waste your time with their Bloody Mary, but everything else was absolutely amazing!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Central Point, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

In New Orleans for business and pleasure ... and dining solo. I really appreciated the friendly service ... and the wonderful food. I started with the tasting soup trio - gumbo ya ya, seafood gumbo and wild mushroom - all three were good but I think I favored the seafood gumbo. Followed the soup with the bacon-wrapped jumbo shrimp with creamy yellow grits and red-eye gravy - wonderful taste experience. And the creamy grits - lots of cream and butter - mmmmm. And I really enjoyed the bread pudding with irish whiskey sauce - much lighter than most bread puddings. A glass of wine and coffee brought the tab to $55 ... pretty reasonable considering the quality food and service. And as a solo diner, I felt welcomed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. B's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.