We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joey K's Restaurant & Bar

Joey K's Restaurant & Bar
3001 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115-2232 (Irish Channel)
504-891-0997
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Irish Channel
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Local Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This charming little restaurant was a great find. Great Jambalaya and Bread Pudding to die for. Probably the best red beans and rice you will ever have. Excellent service and a great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    118
    31
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Eat Where the Locals Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is hidden in plain sight. It is not a fancy venue, but if you want absolutely great local fare, this is the spot. You MUST try there award winning red beans and rice. This is a "stick to your bones" dish that feels great on a cool winter evening. It is the absolute definition of "comfort food" and they do it so well. The prices here are quite reasonable. The only warning is that the inside dining room is very loud when it is full. If you are hard of hearing (like me) you will find it impossible to carry on a conversation unless you sit outside on the sidewalk.

for a family outing, you can head a couple of doors down to Sucre' (one of the most decadent gelato stores in the city) for dessert.

NOTE: The walls of this restaurant are covered in folk art (for sale) by a locally famous artist called "Simon". Once you recognize his work, you will see it all over town...even on billboards.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Heaping Portions of Authentic Cajun Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great jambalaya, red beans and rice, and awesome po-boys. Not fancy, but perfect for great lunch, supper with beers. Be careful in ordering, as all portions are huge. Go there hungry.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was best restaurant that we ate at while in New Orleans. I got the roast beef poboy, and my husband got the red beans and rice. They were both very good, except the poboy came with seasoned fries and I don't like seasoned fries. But it still was the best place that we ate at! Wish I would have eaten there every day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
se ct
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Visiting NOLA & was looking for a not-too-pricey, NOLA/Southern lunch with my husband. PERFECT choice! He had cheese fries for an appetizer & "All U Can Eat Catfish" for a main course (we were hungry). And of course iced tea. I rarely see him so happy with a meal. I even think he was going to try to bribe the server for the salad dressing recipe that came on his salad ... no luck there.

As for me, I ordered fried artichoke hearts for an appetizer (this is the South - they gotta fry it!) ... I LOVE artichoke hearts but have never had them fried & was a little leery, but decided to give it a shot. Thrilled that I did. My fried oyster Po-boy for lunch was also just wonderful.

Our server was a gem, by the way.

Biggest problem? Size of portions. Sadly, not even a blip of space for what I am sure are fabulous deserts. Portions are healthy and you will NOT be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey K's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Joey K's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey K's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.