We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here forever and still great!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Happiness Chinese Restaurant

Five Happiness Chinese Restaurant
3605 S Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-4509 (Mid-City)
504-482-3935
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #521 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Been here forever and still great!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Yummy food, great portion size and cold beer. Five Happiness was here before Katrina and returned soon after. It is a New Orleans institution, especially for those of us in the area nearby. It is not a classic dining experience, but it is a great place to go when you don't want to dress and want good Chinese food!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    22
    32
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The hot sour soup good. There spicy shrimp and chicken was not spicy and shrimp fried rice had very little taste. I was trying it for an alternative to PF Chang's at the mall. (Not a good alternate)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Not bad but not great either. Got some take out after a day of sight seeing. Wonton soup more complex than simple broth. Got a chicken specialty with red peppers. Was flat not spicy at all main flavor was salty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“food decent/nice decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Servers are cordial but don’t expect anything more than them taking your order and returning in a split second with your food and coming back once to make sure everything was OK. I have been here a hundred times because the location is central, the food is consistent, and it does have a nice ambiance. I would recommend ordering your appetizer, soup or whatever, first since the service is super fast. If you order together you will get your soup in less than 2 minutes and the dinners in another 5 minutes. I am always amazed that no matter what you order it is at your table in 5 minutes. Their house special fried rice could be excellent but they add a touch of cinnamon spice to it that I don’t favor. Most dishes are pretty good and I do like all of their soups. The menu is what you would expect from a Chinese restaurant, nothing too exciting but the portion sizes are always abundant and the quality is consistent so you won’t leave hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food and now they deliver, too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family favorite Chinese restaurant. Easy to get to from most areas but now they deliver as well. The menu is interesting but also includes all the typical standards. There are usually some good specials on offer as well which are always excellent. Service is good and portions are generous. For a family of 4 we are very well fed with soup, one portion of crab rangoon and two entrees. They have a full bar. Last time I ordered delivery, my meal arrived piping hot in less than 25 minutes which is astounding given that it takes us about ten minutes to drive and park to get there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Happiness Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Five Happiness Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Happiness Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.