We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Market Cafe

Market Cafe
1000 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3310 (French Quarter)
504-527-5000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #489 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate at the Market Cafe for lunch on July 1st when we got into town. We were walking by and the waiter was standing outside like soliciting people in. He got us by saying we ave a kid's menu with these items on it. My husband ordered the peacemaker po'boy with fries. I had the shrimp po'boy with chips. Both were good, but it had more bread then seafood! My son had the kids grilled cheese and fries, believe me nothing fancy about it...it was $7.95! Our waiter was okay. He never asked us if we wanted anything to drink, just brought us water. Food and service were slow. We will not be returning to that place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    158
    75
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yukon, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed Dinning, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I shared the New Orleans Sampler for lunch. A cup each of Jambalaya, Gumbo, Rice with Beans and shrimp etoufettee. The atmosphere, the service and the food were wonderful. Relaxed dining with inside and open air seating, live music and wonderful people watching. I highly recommend this restaurant especially for a relaxed lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Easy Dining in the Big Easy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Went down the block to this place when we discovered that Cafe du Monde had a line of people stretching down the block. I had the breakfast buffet and my wife ordered a po' boy. There was no pressure to eat quickly. The food was satisfying. We ate outdoors under a roof. This restaurant was nothing to write home about, but it was in a good location for people watching and for a casual breakfast or lunch, it was just fine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Beans, Beans the Musical Fruit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My second visit to the joint. The music is great, the location is cool, the outside it HOT, the inside A/C is a relief. I had a bowl of red beans and rice with sausage while sitting at the inside bar. The food was great. The bartender was a hoot, all the while the back drop of the band and watching people go by. Really a taste of New Orleans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mediocrity Personified”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I stopped in here for a quick lunch while touring the French Market. I actually had to look back at my credit card statement to get the name of the restaurant for this review because it was so forgettable. They did have live jazz playing on the patio and we could still hear them from inside where it was air conditioned, which are the two things that lured us in. I ordered the Oyster Po-boy and I think she just got a Cesar Salad. The service was okay, but nothing special. Once my sandwich arrived, it was fully dressed (lettuce, tomato, and mayo), but a tad light on the oysters. This turned out to be a good thing as while they were breaded well, they had no flavor. $13 for this was completely unreasonable, but I assume the location in the center of the French Market let's them skate by on one-time tourists that don't know any better. Repeat business can't be good here. The Cesar salad was okay, and the best part of the meal was the french fries. If you get hungry in NOLA, walk away from this one a few blocks for much better fare at a better price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.