We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prime rib!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rib Room

Rib Room
621 Saint Louis St, Omni Royal Orleans Hotel, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
504.529.7046
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rib Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #205 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Royal Street
Description: For 50 years The Rib Room has enjoyed its reputation for outstanding food and service. Patrons have found the massive windows facing Royal Street the perfect backdrop for Crescent City dining. The woody, Old English atmosphere and high ceiling invite guests to sit back and stay awhile. The softly lit and equally comfortable Rib Room bar offers the ideal setting for sophisticated beverages and extensive wine cellar selections. In the restaurant's wine cellar, diners requiring privacy may choose from the "Pipkin", "Wine Cellar", or "Roundtable" rooms, perfect for small gatherings; each discreetly removed from the main dining floor. On the upper level of the Rib Room we feature a private room for groups up to 40 guests. Winner of the prestigious Zagat Award, The Rib Room offers classics such as slow roasted prime rib of beef, aged steaks, fresh Louisiana seafood, and champagne brunch on Sunday.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great prime rib!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I had brunch there on Sunday and it was yummy! The prime rib was awesome. Good food. Good deal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    70
    32
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NoNoNo..Don't Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were staying at the Omni and the concierge suggested the Rib Room for Christmas Dinner. We were squeezed in at the last minute and were very excited about going. All I can say is YUCK, we were rushed, told we really should order the Prime Rib rare, waiter rushed off before we could order apps, My Husband had to practically tackle him to order an app. The Prime Rib was just awful, veiny,stringy, bloody mess, I could barely cut it and left most of it. The Server did not even acknowledge the fact that our plates were returned barely touched, we did not even get an offer of desert or coffee just the check. There are some wonderful local "no name" places down the block where you can get a blackened chicken fettuccine alfredo to die for. Don't waste your time or money,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a very stylish hotel restaurant that we had dinner at on New Years Eve.
The deal was $120 each for a five course meal which was to include a glass of champagne.
The service was impeccable and the food was excellent except for the steak which was disappointingly tough.
However, following the meal we were invited up to the roof garden to watch the fireworks with a glass of champers so the evening felt like good value overall

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Could Be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are staying at the Omni, so decided to try The Rib Room. Yes the ambience is old money but the food is simply average for the price which is why my husband and I decided on this rating. Our waiter was well-informed & helpful, but The Rib Room could take a few lessons from Commander's Palace on creativity in the kitchen. I ordered the prime rib and my husband ordered the ribeye. We've had as good elsewhere for half the price. I would not recommend wasting money here when so many other NOLA restaurants are willing to work hard for your business. What a shame! I have the feeling that this place was much better years ago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We love the Rib Room for its great food and professional service. Effie and Adolfo are great waiters and make everyone local or not feel welcome. The decor of the restaurant is beautiful with high windows and wonderful leather chairs. The decor is exceeded by the great food!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Room also viewed

 

Been to Rib Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rib Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.