We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice introduction to Creole dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Restaurant

Eat Restaurant
900 Dumaine St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3023 (French Quarter)
504-522-7222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice introduction to Creole dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was the first restaurant at which we ate. The Trio was a great way to sample multiple Creole dishes--all fabulous. The servings were large and perfect for sharing. The price was very reasonable. It's a BYOB (1st bottle of wine and 1st six pack have no charge) with a cozy feel. The service was good. I recommend getting a table near the window if you can.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    117
    33
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love this place. We've visited for the last 3 years as we stay in the Quarter and it is usually right around the corner from our place. Weekend brunches get a bit crowded and there is usually a wait, bu we have found it worth it.

This past time, my husband had the big breakfast which he loved and I had a crawfish special benedict which was awesome. They don't have a liquor license, so it is BYOB with no corkage for the first bottle of wine or 6 pack of beer. Corkage is $15 for additional bottles or 6 packs.

The restaurant is small, but tidy and bright. Wait staff is pleasant and efficient. I recommend it if you will be in the quarter for brunch. As patrons left while we were waiting outside, everyone who exited exclaimed, "it's worth the wait!"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had lunch there one day and dinner on another night. We loved the trio (gumbo, red beans & rice and a stuffed pepper). For dinner I had the redfish and it was great. My husband had the bar-b-qued shrimp and loved them, although they were really messy to eat. The fig and goat cheese torte was also delicious. My only complaint is that the portions are so large but some people like that. We didn't realize until we went for dinner that they served no alcohol and it was byob. Next time we'll remember.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just happened upon EAT and what a find! We had a variety of eggs and omelets but the real treat was the toast! Yummy multi-grain bread that was delicious. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great casual meal in the Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Casual. But food is excellent with hearty portions. Service friendly. Must BYOB. Highly recommend. One of our favorite Sunday Brunch spots.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Eat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.