We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown

VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown
1501 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-522-4647
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hamburgers, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Located right off the St. Charles streetcar line in the beautiful historic Garden District is the flagship location of VooDoo BBQ & Grill. Voted by locals as one of the top BBQ restaurants in Gambit's annual "Best Of..." issue and known for dishes such as their pulled pork, which is cooked for 14 hours over oak and pecan wood and served with two sides and a piece of garlic-buttered Texas toast, as well as the corn pudding, which is a cornbread souffle baked with whole sweet corn. VooDoo BBQ & Grill is the sound, the soul, the taste of BBQ, New Orleans-style. Brisket, pork, chicken, gumbo, salads and burgers all with the spice and magic of Louisiana.
Fork Union, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My wife, teen-aged daughter, and I ate here a couple of weeks ago. The folks were very friendly and helpful in helping us select what to order. I found the portions to be good size, and the food itself was very good. I would definitely recommend someone taste all the sauces offered on the table - they are awesome!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    87
    40
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great for a Quick Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came here with our 6 year old, and we all enjoyed our food. The place doesn't look like anything special, but the food was good. We ordered a carnival platter, carnival loaded potato, and kid's chicken tenders. More than enough food for all of us! The sweet potato soufflé was excellent. Our daughter really enjoyed the icecream treat that came with her kids meal. You can buy beer, and there is a bar area in the back. The front is family friendly. Great bar-b-q, we'd recommend it for a quick meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent BBQ and great baked potatoes. Friendly service. Good for families. Good atmosphere. Very large portions.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Ok meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ok BBQ for a quick meal. Reasonable prices, full bar. Very small serving of fries, the gumbo tasted like it was from a can. The portions are on the smaller side but reflective of the menu pricing.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark, South Carolina
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Not Enough Mojo at the VooDoo.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This restaurant was within walking distance of St. Vincent’s Guest House on Magazine Street in the Lower Garden District. We were at the original St. Charles Street location. We stopped here for a change of pace from St. Charles Tavern on the corner just across the street where we were more than satisfied with our meals. The food at VooDoo is reasonably priced, and the customer service is good. You order at the counter next to the register, pay up, then go sit down and wait for your food. After it is ready, a server brings it to your table.
I have pulled pork. The meat was okay. I have tried a lot of different kinds of barbecue. I am not picky, but this is average. I should have got the brisket, or the half rack of ribs that Lukas ordered which is tender and comes right off the bone. He did not complain. I should have got the beans as a side dish instead of the sweet potato souffle (mush).
Without enough mojo, the atmosphere is similar to eating at a cafe inside of Walmart. The food is nothing special. It just is not that tasty. This place was nothing special. I was disappointed. When we are in the area again, it is back to St. Charles Tavern again without missing a beat. The VooDoo is a franchise. What does that tell you?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown also viewed

 

Been to VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.