We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ralph & Kacoo's

Ralph & Kacoo's
519 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2123 (French Quarter)
504-522-5226
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ralph & Kacoo's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #486 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Decatur
Transit: 2 blocks from Jax Brewery is the stopoff for the Streetcar.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Try the mahi-mahi and grilled shrimp or the shrimp sampler platter. both were outstanding and the prices were reasonable. Asante our server was great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    113
    66
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good food - lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were just walking around New Orleans and decided to look for something to eat and happened into Ralph & Kachoo's. Ordered Bayou Tea which was served in funky blinking glasses (ok - they are plastic but fun anyway). Ordered gumbo which was OK, blackened shrimp were very good and steamed vegestables tasty. Service was great - the waiter was there when needed/wanted and invisible otherwise. Drinks are not inexpensive ($11 for the Bayou Tea) and the entrees nominaly priced. Nothing fancy about the seating but not crowded and you could talk with your table mates.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed evening with a wonderful server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is our second visit to Ralph & Kacoo's and it was as good as the first time. We actually requested a table near the TV because of the Auburn football game and were quickly accomodated. Generous portions with the Seafood Platter that we both enjoyed

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Meal in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant on a whim walking back to our hotel from a store. It was early for dinner, but we have a three year old so we tend to eat a little early. We were the only people in the restaurant at the time. Our waiter was very attentive and kept drinks filled and came by to ask if we needed anything. A+ for the wait staff (at least our waiter). The food was delicious. My husband had the Redfish Pontchartrain and I had the Filet Mignon with their Vieux Carre sauce. It was one of the best meals I've had in awhile for sure. For dessert we had a Jack Daniel's cake. It was so good. It was a bit on the pricey side, but worth every penny. My one complaint is that they give free ice cream with kids' meals...which is great, but they brought it out before my three year old was finished eating. After he saw the ice cream, it wouldn't touch his food anymore. Not a big deal, but it meant that half his food had to be taken back to the hotel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was just O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Food was average. Had the Seafood platter. Stuffing in crab was mostly bread. Dueling pianos were good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ralph & Kacoo's also viewed

 

Been to Ralph & Kacoo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralph & Kacoo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.