We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My #1 Favorite Spot in N.O.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Court of Two Sisters

Court of Two Sisters
613 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2181 (French Quarter)
504-522-7261
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 1,627 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: With the only daily jazz brunch in town, Court of Two Sisters is famed for its beautiful wisteria-blanketed courtyard and soothing fountains. This history-rich, two-centuries-old restaurant is a must do for any first-time visitor to the Crescent City, serving up traditional New Orleans recipes for brunch and dinner inside and out. Reservations can be made online and are recommended, especially for patio seating.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My #1 Favorite Spot in N.O.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed too many selections of food, which were all extremely well prepared, from all the different types of cold salads to all the hot foods. Way too many to list and the same with desserts. The jazz playing was just wonderful and wasn't to loud so we could actually carry on a conversation at our table. This is an absolute must, my favorite thing to do in N.O.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    746
    447
    244
    142
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trading on past performance avoid it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Eight of us reserved for dinner. After the hostess said to proceed because, they were ready for us, the second hostess said no, they were NOT ready for us. We had to wait for another 10 minutes.Drinks took forever to be delivered, we waited over 90 minutes for our dinner and even then only 7 were served. Our server apologized but it still took another 10 minutes for it to arrive. Tables were empty around us, there were no heaters outside on a cool night. The food was OK, but not exceptional for the price. The manager was apologetic but offered no reason or remedy for the delay. We're from Chicago and accustomed to good service and good food. This experience was unacceptable and I can't in good conscience recommend this venue. We heard similar stories from others after the fact. There are too many good places to eat in New Orleans to put up with mediocrity. The Court of Two Sisters seems to be coasting on it's reputation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great courtyard and live jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Court of Two Sisters is in a fabulous setting. Dining in the courtyard and listening to live jazz is truly an experience. The experience included debris falling from the huge wisteria that covers a majority of the courtyard. The jazz brunch was ok, but the food was not as good as I expected. But it was really ok. We took our grandson, so now 4 generations of our family have dined at this venue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, NB
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I really enjoyed the turtle soup, but the rest was just ok. They have a good wine selection however. The thing that make this restaurant different is the terrace, more enjoyable if it's not raining!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Is usually so much better....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of my favorite haunts when in The Quarter. But this go 'round left me wanting. To their credit, I came in late that day, ~1:30pm for the last hour of the Sunday Brunch, so the buffet had been out a while. The crayfish were overcooked and mushy, and the catfish too "fishy" tasting. The brunch is $29 a head, so a little pricey especially once I was put off the meal. Again, usually this place is great, so maybe my expectation was too high this time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court of Two Sisters also viewed

 

Been to Court of Two Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Court of Two Sisters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.