We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steaks and burgers EVER!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port of Call

Port of Call
838 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1941
504-523-0120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Galveston Island, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best steaks and burgers EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I checked this place out based on a recommendation from a local friend. OH MY GOODNESS this place was amazing! Its kind of a divey place, but the food is amazing. I had a filet and baked potato and my husband a cheeseburger and they both were the best I have ever had. The baked potatoes are out of this world. We even came back the next night! Don't expect great service because this place is pretty busy, but the food and drinks make it worth it. Try a monsoon! Easy walk from the quarter, great food and not too expensive!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    214
    72
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A little bit away from the Bourban usual but worth the trip. The burgers here are what people go for.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

very popular burger joint... nicely cooked and high quality ingredients. casual dining, comfortable restaurant. highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Its a great burger PLUS the Monsoon and a baked potato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I love burgers. Love them. And this is a great burger. From the shredded cheese that melts on top to the seasoning of the meat to the bun. It just works so well. Then you have this delicious baked potato instead of fries! Top notch. And to top it off, one of the two best drinks to start your night (or day) while in NOLA, the Monsoon! Love this place and its dingy, lived in interior.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Burger. Great Drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

In town for the Superbowl and we heard about this place from many people. Some of the locals say it has lost a step, but for out of towners like myself I thought it was great! It's off the beaten path and the menu is very simple and good. I got a Mushroom Cheese burger and it was awesome. Mixed drinks are a speciality and they're all good. Also, if you like fries with your burger you came to the wrong place because they only have baked potatoes to go with your burger, but trust, me they are amazing too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Call also viewed

 

Been to Port of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port of Call, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.