We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Po-boy EVER!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkway Bakery & Tavern

Parkway Bakery & Tavern
538 Hagan Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-4911
+1 504-482-3047
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Parkway Bakery & Tavern is a New Orleans restaurant and family dining tradition located at the corner of Hagan and Toulouse overlooking Bayou St. John in Louisiana.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Po-boy EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We used to live in New Orleans, moved 2 years ago. But I still crave the BEST PO-BOY you will ever eat!
Park-way has the BEST Po-boys in New Orleans, we should know because my husband was born and raised there and also cooked in the city for over 30 years, I am a transplant and lived there 20+ years.
The shrimp Po-boy is OVER STUFFED with the best local shrimp and seasoned and fried to perfection.
The roast beef po-boy is fantastic too!
So if your going to New Orleans, please stop by the best place to eat a REAL New Orleans Po-boy at PARKWAY BAKERY & Tavern. There will be a line,cause it's so good. It moves fast
And the people are Great too. A wonderful family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    124
    37
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Po Boy in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Make sure and order Surf & Turf po-boy, gumbo is good as well as cold beer and easy to get to-- have to stand inline to place order, but that's part of ambience

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Po'boy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

You can't go to New Orleans and not eat a Po'boy. The large Po'boy was huge, so my husband and I spilt it. I ordered a side of fries and my husband ordered a side of gumbo. The shrimp Po'boy was was very good. My husband loved that the gumbo was served with more gumbo than rice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when in NoLa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A not so hidden gem for visitors and locals alike, you can't go wrong with this neighborhood classic. Ask a local where the best place to get a Poboy in town is and you may get a list of places as long as your arm. If you are looking for a local spot where you can't go wrong for an excellent taste of New Orleans then Parkway Tavern is the place for you.

Located just off Bayou St. John and within walking distance from the Fairgrounds (and Jazzfest), Parkway is an old neighborhood haunt where locals and travelers alike sit shoulder to shoulder at the bar or in the back or large patio area. While the food is not to be missed the bar and their welcoming bartenders pour a proper drink. Personally I think the Shrimp Poboy is one of the best in the city. This is a great launching point for great festivals like Jazzfest and Bayou Boogaloo. Easily reached by cab and within reasonable walking distance from the streetcar line.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Goooood Foooood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you ever get a chance to come to New Orleans you have to go to Parkway Bakery&Tavern. The poboys are truly amazing. I don't know how they do it, but they are good. We have tried all their poboys and have never been disappointed. The sandwiches are enough to make two from one. You can get seafood,cold cuts. This is a quaint little pub like place to hang out on the inside or outside. The outside is covered or you can eat on the porch like seating area or the bar. Service is good and the staff is very polite. I understand the President stopped by to eat there. No matter, you just have to go there for a good poboy or a good glass of wine,beer or whatever you like. If you like Cheers you will love Parkway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkway Bakery & Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Parkway Bakery & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkway Bakery & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.