We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great service, don't miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Ton Cafe

Bon Ton Cafe
401 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
504-524-3386
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service, don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

On our recent trip to NOLA we ate at Bon Ton Cafe based on recommendations from TripAdvisor and we were very pleased with our experience and the food there. We made a reservation and arrived a bit early and were able to hang out at the bar and drink some wine before dinner with a very nice staff to talk to about what was good on the menu. We were in a party of 4 and all decided to order something different and sample each dish; they were all delicious. My husband's was my favorite, he ordered the crab augratin; the side of creamed cauliflower was also very good. The restaurant is packed to the max, but the service was good and food delicious! Definitely make a reservation. It is also not opened on Saturday or Sunday, so if you are in for the weekend make that your Friday night dinner spot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    125
    35
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kenmore ny
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“a little gem!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Came in on a busy Mon nite without a reservation but was warmly greeted and seated.Excellent fish selection and all food of high quality. Very professional server(forgot his name-dark hair,middle aged and glasses) who was very pleasant and helpful about our choices. excellent drum and trout fish and glazed brussels sprouts rounded out a nice meal. the topper was the whiskey bread pudding(their specialty) i have never tasted a more delicious and satisfying dessert anywhere. A great find accidentally near our hotel in the warehouse district. do not miss this one!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Top Contributor
630 reviews 630 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 253 cities Reviews in 253 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I enjoyed a fantastic lunch here today. The catfish,buttered potatoes and salad were very good. They opened at 11am and 20 minutes later every table was full. As busy as they were, service was fine. The manager came by and checked to see if things were agreeable. A beautiful restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Visit the restaurant in April, 2012 when attend a meeting in New Orleans. With prior reservation, have no problem to get a table on time. Love Turtle Soup, Shrimp & Crab Gumbo, Crabmeat Au Gratin (Wow!) and Crawfish Entoffee with Rice, just delicious! It's not that expensive: seafood entrees running from $20 to $30.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very well prepared typical NOLA fare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Bon Ton is legendary for its typical New Orleans fare-turtle soup, gumbo, jambalaya, étouffée, fried seafood, etc. Friendly, country home atmosphere, away from the hustle and bustle of other French Quarter restaurants. A bit pricey, is the major negative, but not outrageously so. And the low key, superb and simple preparations are worth the price.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Ton Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bon Ton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Ton Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.