We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schooled My Tastebuds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broussard's

Broussard's
819 Conti St, New Orleans, LA 70112
+1 504-581-3866
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Broussard's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #465 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bourbon St
Description: Broussard’s Restaurant offers a New Orleans interpretation of traditional Continental European Cuisine in an historically significant setting nestled in the French Quarter. Blending the glamour and refinement of the past with a stylish sense of modernity, Broussard’s provides an atmosphere of understated elegance.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“Schooled My Tastebuds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I had no idea that food could be designed full of layered surprises to excite the Tastebuds!
The captain offered recommendations, which I followed (smart move). From the frog legs(my first try) to the strawberry arugula salad (OMG) to the Ostrich cooked to perfection and perfectly paired with Pinot Noir, it was delightful! Highly recommend this dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    9
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgmont, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meals in Old World elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A group of us went to Broussards for dinner and were very happy that we did! We were in town for a conference, and from out of state. The staff was very attentive-very knowledgable and friendly. The food was marvelous! The corn and crab chowder was amazing, the fois gras appetizer, outstanding, and the trio of oyster appetizer was delicious!! Everyone enjoyed their meals and the experience. The rack of lamb stuffed with crab meat was beyond great and the Trout Louis Phillipe was terrific!! Broussards also has a very nice wine list, and a creative, accommodating bartender!
I would highly recommend this elegant dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
“The best meal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I consider ourselves restaurant snobs and are very discriminating when it comes to meals out. Brossard's provided the best experience ever for us on April 1st, 2014 during our wedding anniversary celebration. The staff was attentive without being overbearing and the food is best described in one word: exquisite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old New Orleans Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were here the week after Mardi Grad, when the orthopedic convention was in town. We were fortunate to get a reservation, which the restaurant very kindly held for us when our plane was delayed.
The restaurant has an "old New Orleans" ambience, and a very formal atmosphere and service. Our table captain, Corey was very attentive and helpful. The food was a little slow in coming, mostly because the restaurant was overflowing with large table of orthopedic surgeons.
The food was delcious, but is fairly rich. We had the rabbit rillette for starters. One of us had the crab stuffed lamb and the other had the pheasant. Both meals were delicious and perfectly cooked
The wine llst is extensive and has a variety of prices. It was very enjoyable to dine here. We would go back. If the weather was warmer, we would try for a table in the Courtyard.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No Mardi Gras Spirit - 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The atmosphere was stuffy, almost pompous and if the hostess asked us one more time if we had a reservation, even after seating us, I was going to raise my right eyebrow! Not to be offensive, but this place was like blast to past where only fair skinned coloreds were allowed to serve their master and his guests, only this time the guests were the same color as the servers and sadly even today, this seemed throw the hostess off a bit. Thankfully our main server was gracious & gay, so he picked up on the tension and immediately took over. From that moment on the champagne flowed, the food was supreme and it became one of our favorite meals during the Mardi Gras!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broussard's also viewed

 

Been to Broussard's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broussard's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.