We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen

K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen
416 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 596-2530
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St. Louis Street- Conti Street
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Don't be fooled by the slightly unassuming exterior of this restaurant, it is the best food that we had in New Orleans! This is the birthplace of blackened cooking and a "must stop" for delicious and authentic food. They have a very diverse menu which a great sampling of classic New Orleans dishes. My husband had a blackened steak that he loved and I had the blackened drum fish which was FANTASTIC. Their freshly made bread is unbelievable and the deserts that we saw looked amazing although we were too full to sample. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Be aware, they have lunch service as well, however the lunch service is far less glamorous. You order at the counter and the food is served on disposable plates. However, it is the same excellent food at a fraction of the price, best value in town! I saw several negative reviews of their lunch service as people may not be aware that this is how it works.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    215
    95
    41
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We picked K-Paul's for our 25th. wedding anniversary.
The Turtle soup is to die for.
The Blackened Drum fish was very good.
Service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get a real taste of the food of this region. Don't miss this one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

K-Paul's was our favorite restaurant out of the many we sampled in NO. The dress and atmosphere are casual. It was nice not to have to get dressed-up.

We started of with a freshly made basket of rolls. Every one of them was delicious.
There were 6 of us and everyone loved what they ordered. We tried jambalaya, rice and beans, rabbit crayfish,etc. It was all wonderfully delicious. A real sampling of the food of NO.

I suggest you make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Meal,Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had an wonderful meal,well trained friendly staff,This is the classic ,all others are pale copies.
Server was super friendly and recommended other good places.Would go there again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsboro, PA, USA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Past it's prime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Dinner on a Thursday evening. Have eaten here before and this experience was not up to par. It is heading towards tourist fare instead of gourmet as it once was. The menu had very good selections but the preparation from the kitchen said we don't care. My steak was cooked the way I ordered but had way to much gristle for the price. The others in my party said their meals were okay but noting to rave about. The restaurant was full as usual and the noise level was very high. The decor, one wall is old brick, does nothing to soak up the noise. Service was good but not exceptional. Forget the business casual dress code. There were more people there in jeans. There was a group of conference attendees having a party in the back. Some of them in jeans and t-shirts. Guess the new dress code is something green with presidents pictures or some plastic with numbers on it. Maybe the new clientle explains the drop off in quality of the food. In no hurry to go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K-Paul's Louisiana Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.