We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigny Manor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marigny Manor House
Save
You added Marigny Manor House to your Saves list
2125 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best B&B in New Orleans

I received my undergraduate degrees from Loyola a few years ago, and consequently had family in and out of town frequently who chose to stay at Bed and Breakfasts instead of character-less hotels. So, I've seen my share of New Orleans Bed and Breakfasts.

Gill's place, The Marigny Manor House, by far takes the cake for being the best. We stayed one night in the courtyard room and it was lovely experience. The room was spotless, and the bed one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced. Gill is a great host, and I highly recommend dragging yourself out of bed in time for one of his breakfasts.

I can't wait to stay here again. Thanks Gill!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
154
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we arrived at Marigny Manor in New Orleans we were greeted at the door by our host who welcomed us into the home. The old manor has some very interesting appointments and is a masterpiece to explore. We sat and discussed what we wanted to do, while he offered some wonderful suggestions for restaurants within walking distance of the B & B. We quickly realized the location was perfect for a walk into the French Quarter yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful upon return. No need to start the car until Sunday morning when we left.
The home has a fabulous courtyard, lush with greenery, where we enjoyed sitting and visiting.
Both mornings our delicious breakfast set us off for a busy day. Our host was delightful and we feel we made a friend. This was a perfect get a way weekend for us. Thanks, Gil

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Marigny Manor House. The house is beautiful, elegant, and lovingly restored and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in the United States. Complimentary Wi-Fi is also included. It is in a very convenient location near the French Quarter in the wonderful Marigny area but is also quiet and relaxing. Gil is a thoughtful, charming, welcoming host who quickly makes you feel at home. He has in-depth knowledge of the area and shares wonderful stories of the area and its history. What a delightful person! He is also a great chef and provides absolutely delicious breakfasts. The upside down pancakes are scrumptious, the fruit was really fresh, and the coffee was great. Absolutely enjoyed the Southern hospitality and gorgeously appointed manor. Highly recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The most comfortable bed, better than the ritz Carlton. The breakfast was amazing. The inn keeper is the nice person and the staff are so helpful with tips on where to go and what is on. Would stay again in a heart beat. Clean and beautiful rooms with less than 5 min walk to Frenchmen street and easily the better side of town. Would recommend it to anyone as it is so convenient and a real taste of New Orleans in a house that was built in the 1800 and has been so well maintained. A beautiful place.

Room Tip: Courtyard room has a beautiful shower and amazing bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just arrived home after spending a magical weekend in New Orleans.
Gil, our host, was a delight and his B&B everything we could hope for. It is a quick walk to the Quarter to hear the music of the French Quarter Festival. And a quicker walk to Frenchman Street to hear the music of the clubs.
Breakfast was a special treat and the overall ambiance of the home delightful.
We are already looking forward to our return! Thank you, Gil!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestdale, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staying at the Marigny made our trip! We were so very well taken care of from amazing breakfasts to hearing personal history of the lovely city every day we followed the owner's tip and were never let down. The room was immaculate and comfortable and we never once needed to take a cab or rent a car we were in walking distance to everything! I know we will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Marigny Manor is a beautiful old girl, lovingly restored, elegant and immaculate. Gil is a gracious host, clearly interested in making sure his guests are well cared for. Our room was cozy, clean and the bed very comfortable. The location of the Marigny is fantastic, right around the corner from trendy Frenchman Street with all it's great music and good eats and an easy walk to the French Quarter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The back suite (once the slave quarters) is quiet, roomy yet cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,121 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 144 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Marigny
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 144 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigny Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigny Manor House

Address: 2125 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and enjoy our Southern hospitality in our home, just 5 blocks from the French Quarter, Riverside streetcar and Bourbon Street! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marigny Manor House b&b
Marigny Manor House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigny Manor House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.