We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Imagine Staying Anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2125 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Forestdale, Massachusetts
1 review
“Cannot Imagine Staying Anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Staying at the Marigny made our trip! We were so very well taken care of from amazing breakfasts to hearing personal history of the lovely city every day we followed the owner's tip and were never let down. The room was immaculate and comfortable and we never once needed to take a cab or rent a car we were in walking distance to everything! I know we will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
116
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Marigny Manor is a beautiful old girl, lovingly restored, elegant and immaculate. Gil is a gracious host, clearly interested in making sure his guests are well cared for. Our room was cozy, clean and the bed very comfortable. The location of the Marigny is fantastic, right around the corner from trendy Frenchman Street with all it's great music and good eats and an easy walk to the French Quarter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: The back suite (once the slave quarters) is quiet, roomy yet cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful Mardi Gras weekend in New Orleans staying at Marigny Manor House. A beautifully restored 1847 mansion, the B&B was a perfect fit for us — we are adventurous travelers, and generally to avoid the obvious and commercial. So we stayed in the up-and-coming Faubourg Marigny, just a few blocks outside the chaotic French Quarter, and centered our visit on the great small music clubs and restaurants of nearby Frenchmen Street rather than the overcrowded (with tourists & drunks) Bourbon Street. Favorite clubs: The Spotted Cat & Three Muses (great bands and superb food, no smoking, no cover). Gil at MMH was a friendly, relaxed and knowledgeable host, and his breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Balcony room, on the back side and very quiet. Felt like a small apartment. Newly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a nice stay at Marigny this fall—John and Gil were thoughtful and welcoming—even going out of the way to make a fuss over me for my birthday (the balloon, card, and cake were so sweet, especially because they were completely unexpected!).

The house is lovingly maintained and comfortable and yes, the breakfasts are quite tasty. I'm gluten free and was happily scarfing down the gluten-free breakfasts Gil experimented with for me.

If I had to suggest anything to make it better, would say it would be great if the bathroom in the green room could have a different curtain set up around the tub—we had a tough time trying to take a shower without getting either caught up in the curtain that hung down around the stand-alone tub or flooding the bathroom. We also couldn't control the air in our room, although we thought we did (we should have asked the gents how to do it, but kept forgetting). We thought we'd turned the air off, but we'd wake up shivering.

If you're in NOLA, this is a great, convenient, cozy place to stay. Would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I had already been in New Orleans for a week staying at a timeshare exchange. We were pretty much done with the sights and Bourbon Street so we chose to end our trip in a Bed and Breakfast. We are so glad we chose the beautiful Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast!
John and Gil are the best hosts ever and made us feel so at home. The house is amazingly gorgeous and quiet (a Welcome surprise from the car horns constantly blowing and people yelling at all hours at the time share just off of Canal St.!). Gil is a master chef in my book and the breakfasts are delicious - the upside down pancakes - DIVINE! Their knowledge of the area and the local flavor is amazing - we wish we had stayed here first!
The location of the B&B was perfect. Close enough to the French quarter yet quiet and relaxing. The Marigny area is a diamond in the rough and we very much enjoyed exploring the restaurants and jazz clubs there.
We never felt unsafe walking around the neighborhood and everyone we met was friendly. The Marigny area is a big melting pot of people, food and music but not in a commercial way like the French Quarter. It's a delightful neighborhood and a must-visit if you are in NOLA.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast and highly recommend it. When we visit NOLA again, it will be the only place we consider!
Thanks John and Gil for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The green room is on the front of the house and has a wonderful claw foot tub and a private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarignyBud, Owner at Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for the very positive review. It was nice having you stay with us!
John and Gil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is beautifully restored and decorated. Gil and John, the innkeepers, are wonderful. They are so welcoming and helpful with local knowledge. The food Gil prepares is amazing. The home is located really close to the French Quarter which is a really nice bonus. There is just one thing that you need to be aware of. Be very careful where you walk in the neighborhood around this B and B. We took a wrong turn and ended up in a VERY dangerous area. This was only 2 or 3 blocks over from the B and B. Be really, really CAREFUL please. You need to know that the neighborhood is not very nice. The Marigny Manor House is one of the very few if not the only restored home in the immediate area. The rest are either abandoned or just in serious disrepair. Do not expect the area to look like the Garden District. As I said, the place itself is gorgeous and John and Gil are lovely. Additionally, the proximity to the French Quarter is a major plus. Just be aware of what the neighborhood is like and be careful.

Room Tip: The Red Room is Awesome. Huge space. Not all that clean but beautifully decorated and very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarignyBud, Owner at Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Tiffany and Frank,

Thanks for the compliments on our house and Gil's breakfasts!

It sounds like we definitely were not a match! 99% of our guests choose our location BECAUSE the neighborhood is over 200 years old and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in the United States. They love the fact that it is only 5 blocks to the French Quarter and 3 blocks from the Frenchman Street music district.

Our neighborhood was selected 1 of the 10 most interesting neighborhoods in the United States in 2009. People are renovating and upgrading properties all over the area. No, it is not a gated community or Disney style resort area. It is the real thing…beautiful architecture, great food, music with no fast food chains or strip shopping centers. It does have a laid back, bohemian feel with lots of musicians, artists and students in the area.

Sounds like you definitely took a wrong turn and went into an area where you really felt unsafe. It's true there are some rough areas in New Orleans that are adjacent to the more developed areas. We always show our visitors clearly on a map where the boundaries are for an enjoyable visit. We feel as safe as we ever did while living in Houston, Texas before we moved here. We are pleased that the Marigny's crime statistics are substantially better than the French Quarter.

Fortunately for us, after 12 years of running our bed and breakfast in this location ….and 178 of our 179 reviews have loved our location.

We provide housekeeping services 6 days a week. Unfortunately, we were doing some Hurricane Isaac plaster repairs in the room adjacent to you that created more of a problem that we were expecting. Your cleanliness comment was understandable. It will not happen again.
_____________________________________________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying three nights in the Red Room of this beautiful home in mid-November. John greeted us on the front porch! We sat down with him in the gorgeous dining room and he carefully went over all the details of our stay and offered helpful tips about the neighborhood and the city. He's especially good at helping you get a "local" experience, if that's what your preference. Gil cooks incredible breakfasts - hopefully, you'll get to taste his upside down, breakfast cake...melt-in-your-mouth yummy! Both gentlemen are wonderful conversationalists and strive to make you feel at home with just the right amount of attentiveness. The Marigny location is an easy walk to the great music scene on Frenchmen St. and the shopping, dining and sites in the French Qtr. Our feet and public transportation were all we needed to get around the city. We highly recommend Marigny Manor for a wonderful NOLA experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarignyBud, Owner at Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful comments! We really enjoyed having you stay with us! Hope to see you again some time!
John and Gil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2125 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and enjoy our Southern hospitality in a historic Bed and Breakfast just 5 blocks from the French Quarter, Riverside streetcar and Bourbon Street! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marigny Manor House b&b
Marigny Manor House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marigny Manor House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.