We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowing Powdered Sugar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe duMonde

Cafe duMonde
800 Decatur Street, In Front of Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA 70116
(504) 525-4544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Snowing Powdered Sugar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The coffee was luscious, and the beignets hot and sugared. The sugar looked especially well on our faces and clothing when we were done. The staff was nonplussed by our antics.... :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    72
    30
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somers, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is a must visit while in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This classic cafe is a landmark in New Orleans. It's nothing fancy, the ground is always dusted with a white layer of powdered sugar, but it's still the perfect New Orleans experience, as you sip your chicory coffee, take in the life around Jackson square, and listen to the street musicians. Even if the beignets aren't the best doughnut you'll ever have, they are delicious, buried under the mountain of powdered sugar, and served along side a cafe au lait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not as wonderful as my memory of it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

In all fairness, approximately 40 years have passed since I last visited. That is a lot of time to romanticize about something! And what annoys a 52 year old likely does not even register with an 11 year old.

The Bs were great as always. Don't drink coffee, but my mother loved it. Hate the cash only aspect, especially in this day and age. The seating system is horrible. But worst of all, the wait staff (at least the one we had) was horrible. She argued with us about everything....our order, our change, what I was leaving as a tip. First time in many years I was tempted to not tip anything. But in all fairness, if I had that job I would probably lose my mind.

If you are traveling, it is worth the visit. Go early to avoid the crowds. By early, I mean like 6-7 a.m. Even going at 9:30 a.m., our wait was only about 10 minutes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great outdoor seating for people watching. Its very busy and can be difficult to find a table. Beignets are such a wonderful treat. The cafe is open 24 hours a day and I am sure it is busy the entire time. Very friendly service with all of the hustle and bustle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OMG!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Before we tasted beignets, I was not convinced that these hot little ding-a-ma-jigs laden with a ton of powdery sugar could compare to Italian zeppoles we have here in New York. Wow, let me tell you that if that is your mindset, you will be wrong and certainly miss out on a most delicious pastry. Zeppoles can't compare to beignets -- yep, I can't believe that I am making that statement. Ouch!!! But it's soooo true. Let the truth set me free! Now I know why they sell nothing but these yummy delights. They don't need to sell anything else!!!!!! They're not as greasy as zeppoles and, although very similar in taste, are just a delight to the palate. On the other hand, I was totally unimpressed with their cafe au lait. Instead, I loved the hot chocolate. When we learned that Cafe du Monde is a 24 hour operation, that made our vacation all the more enjoyable!!!! Had dessert here quite a few times. I can't stop dreaming about those little numbers! Can't wait to go back for more!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe duMonde also viewed

 

Been to Cafe duMonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe duMonde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.