We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I need to go back..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Stella - CLOSED

Restaurant Stella
1032 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-587-0091
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stella/99134789750
Description: Intimately located in the French Quarter, at Stella!, Chef Scott Boswell creates exciting New American Cuisine influenced jointly by world flavors and his Louisiana Roots. ~Award Winning Wine List ~Zagat -top ten food in New Orleans ~New Orleans Magazine Best Chef ~DiRona awarded restaurant ~rated 5 Beans by the Times Picayune, New Orleans
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I need to go back..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I like the place but my friend thought it was to stiff..it was not a cheap place to eat. But I didnt have a problem with it ..I love the way they present the food and the service was great. the waiter never left my side. Some people dont like that but I had no problem with it. I will definitly go back next time..

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    67
    54
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tripping Through The Greek wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wonderful experience at Stella last March and we will be returning in March 2013. The young American sommelier responding to our surprise at seeing so many Greek wines on the menu, kindly offered us a tasting---he poured us five and we purchased a glass on one each. Certainly beyond the call of duty.

The food was exceptional as well and the waitress was as professional as the accommodating wine steward. All in all, an experience to remember.

Richard Wise.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The food is exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Be prepared to spend min. of $85 for four course dinner. The appetizer and the second course was small, but the main course is very generous. I had beef tenderloin and there was a good portion. I also had cheese for the fourth course and that turned out to be wonderful. I enjoyed more than sweet dessert my boyfriend had. Please order the sweet dessert if you so inclined. I couldn't eat sweets because of my health condition. Then the waiter surprised us by bringing four little desserts on the tray on the house. If you are willing to spend $100 per person, this is the best restaurant in New Orleans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
2 reviews
“Exceptional Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the moment of arrivial to exiting the door we were treated like kings. The 4 course meal and wonderful bottle of wine were soooooo gooooood!!! Expensive and worth it!! Presentation was beautiful, food delish, waiters and servers very well versed on the food and wine list and very attentive. Certainly not everday dining for us but for those very special occasions!!! We highly recomend Stella.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A local recommended this fine restaurant to us while we were attending a meeting in New Orleans. Impressive is the only way to describe the food and the service. The prix fixe menu - chose 4 or 7 courses, we chose 4 - was exquisitely presented and every course delicious. The dishes were a work of art, which was not surprising as the chef/owner once considered becoming an artist. The sea bass was delightful and the smaller portions left plenty of room for the signature bananas foster french toast desert. Even more impressive was the knowledge of the staff in their ability to describe how each dish was prepared and the flavorings and balance of the wines. Definitely a great place for a lovely dinner in New Orleans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Stella also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.