We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive out of the quarter to get there...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde College Inn

Ye Olde College Inn
3000 S Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-4304 (Formerly Ye Olde College Inn Incorporated)
504-866-3683
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ye Olde College Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #332 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fig Street
Description: Since 1933 Ye Olde College Inn has served generations of New Orleanians. Come join us at a true New Orleans landmark. Our menu features our latest Creole specials and plenty of twists on traditional New Orleans standards. Next door is another New Orleans landmark, the Rock’n'Bowl. Ask for a $5 off voucher when you dine from the entree section of our menu.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth the drive out of the quarter to get there...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Creative dishes that are true NOLA fare. And tastes amazing. With any luck you can catch the owner at the bar...can't miss him as he will be wearing a Rock-N-Bowl shirt. He owns both places. The wait staff are informed and great fun. They seem to enjoy their work.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our Kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I call this restaurant our "kitchen" because we eat there so often. We last ate there as soon as the power came back on after Isaac. The menu was "limited." (Translation: Only one kind of soup and the lump crabmeat was replaced by shrimp and no ice cream or custard for dessert. Only bottled beer. Other than that, everything else was available) Service is always friendly.

We like this restaurant because there is something for everyone. If you are dining with children, the po-boys are some of the best I have had. I love the hamburger on French bread. I also like (If I can find someone who will share) the oyster, havarti and bacon po-boy. If you are wanting more grown-up food, try the lamb shank.

As for dessert, you MUST try the bread pudding po-boy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A real dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Family went for a light dinner. None of the items ordered were satisfactory. Some of it had a "secret sauce" that was orange and tasted terrible.....kinda like French Dressing with Sweet and Low mixed in. Will not go back and waste money on this place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

ordered an iceberg wedge appetizer and got something like a "cylinder", complained with humor about the geometric difference between a wedge and cylinder... owner suggested that he would prefer that I never come back. I think that I interrupted a conversation he was having. Been going there since 1962 (more than 50 years, parents more than 70 years), never thought that they lacked a sense of humor. Still waiting for the "please come back" signal! Hasn't happened yet in 2 years....

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in a somewhat dodgy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Frankly, there is no way we would have gone to this place if it hadn't been recommended to us. The name is clearly ridiculous, as if it were some kind of teeny bopper pub full of jocks in letter jackets. It is right next to a bowling alley (yes), where they hold country music concerts and have regular dance nights - generally not our cup of tea. On top of all this, the neighborhood is somewhat dodgy - there is a parking lot that is bright and perfectly safe, but one block down and it is definitely not an area you want to walk around in at night. Basically you would not be going there without a car.

Despite all of this, this is a proper restaurant with white tablecloths and everything. The decor was very sophisticated, and the food, though a tad on the heavy side (the portions were also a bit small for my taste), was excellent. All in all we had a very good experience.

The above having been said, upon returning home and browsing through the other reviews, I noticed the one that accuses the place of discriminatory practices against African Americans. Naturally I don't know what happened to this person, but I thought about it, and realized that, indeed, there were no African American customers when we went. Of course, on its own that doesn't prove anything, so I really don't know what to say. But it is something to keep in mind - after all this is the Deep South.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde College Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde College Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde College Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.