We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atchafalaya

Atchafalaya
901 Louisiana Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-1231
5048919626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Atchafalaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Laural Street
Transit: Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Bloody Mary Bar is a great idea. Fun experience to create my own. Had to make two to experiment with all the possible ingredients! Loved their version of Eggs Benedict with the gator sausage, cornbread and creole sauce. The music and decor added to a wonderful morning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    81
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New orleans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Priced a little high but the food was. Good I would go back the service was good and the atmosphere was nice

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just flat out awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Party of 4 for my wife's belated birthday dinner. This was actually our second recent attempt to get in this restaurant (i see now why its so hard to get in). Place has a neighborhood ambiance with a 5 star offering of food and wine. We had cocktails to start before ordering wine ( i recall we ordered a tempranillo). i recall the appetizers were world class french--the free form raviolli and softshell crab were standouts. Mussels required us to order extra bread for dipping. I can tell you without reservation that my entree...the shrimp and grits....(and being a local New Orleans foodie I'm lowering my voice so my friends who own many of the other New Orleans world class restaurants won't hear me say this....looking both ways)----THIS PLACE SERVES THE BEST SHRIMP AND GRITS IN THE @#$%^&* business....... Yes folks..its that good. that was a rare "WOW" experience. restuarant was packed but wasn't so noisy that we couldn't hear ourselves. Make a reservation, and do your best to be prompt. the bartenders konw what they're doing---don't be afraid to ask questions about the wine. Can't wait to go back----

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely setting, will definitely return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Good, friendly service, knowledgeable waitress, small but interesting menu highlighting fish. We had salmon, grouper and redfish, all were perfectly prepared. We will definitely return next time we're back in NOLA. The only reason we didn't give it 5 stars throughout is that the entrees were brought out too soon so the pace wasn't as leisurely as we would have liked; other than that, it was outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We enjoyed a vey memorable dinner here on a very busy Saturday evening. Our table was ready as soon as we arrived. The service was perfect. Our waiter was helpful and quite knowledgeable. We had a few specialty cocktails which were very good. Our meals were delicious! We especially liked the fried green tomatoes, the goat cheese salad, and the shrimp and grits. Can't say enough about our experience here. We will definitely recommend to others!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atchafalaya also viewed

 

Been to Atchafalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atchafalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.